UW's Wroten Named Player of the Week

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.— WASHINGTON freshman guard Tony Wroten has been named Bank of the West Pac-12 Men's Basketball Player of the Week for Dec. 26-Jan. 1, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Monday.

The Seattle, Wash., native averaged a Pac-12-best 21.5 points, 6.5 rebounds, 4.5 assists and 1.0 steals in a sweep of the Oregon schools last weekend. On Thursday's Pac-12 opener, Wroten led Washington with 26 points and nine rebounds in a 95-80 victory over Oregon State. His 10-for-16 (.625) shooting from the field was accompanied by four assists, a steal and a season-low two turnovers.

On Saturday, Wroten racked up 17 points, five assists, four rebounds, one block and one steal in a 76-60 win over Oregon. The freshman ranks second in the Pac-12 in scoring with 16.8 ppg and is fourth in the conference in steals per game with 1.6.

This is Wroten's first career Pac-12 Player of the Week honor and the 44th all-time selection for Washington. It is the second Player of the Week selection for the Huskies this season, with C.J. Wilcox taking the first honor of the 2011-12 season on Nov. 14.

Washington takes its first conference road trip this week to face Colorado on Thursday, Jan. 5 at 7 p.m. MT/6 p.m. PT and Utah on Saturday, Jan. 7 at 12 p.m. MT/11 a.m. PT.

Also Nominated: Jesse Perry, ARIZ; Jorge Gutierrez, CAL; Andre Roberson, COLO; E.J. Singler, ORE; Aaron Bright, STAN.

2011-12 Pac-12 Players of the Week

Nov. 14 C.J. Wilcox, So., G, Washington
Nov. 21 Jared Cunningham, Jr., G, Oregon State
Nov. 28 Maurice Jones, So., G, USC
Dec. 5 Solomon Hill, Jr., F, Arizona
Dec. 12 Brock Motum, Jr. F, Washington State
Dec. 19 Ahmad Starks, So., G, Oregon State
Dec. 26 Solomon Hill, Jr., F, Arizona
Jan. 2 Tony Wroten, Fr., G, Washington

Pac-12 Networks TV
On Pac-12 Networks Now
Football: California at USC (10/9/04)
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Los Angeles
  • Pac-12 Washington
  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Arizona
  • Pac-12 Bay Area