This Week in Pac-12 Baseball

Download Complete Release

• Six Pac-12 teams are ranked in Baseball America's top 25 poll: Stanford (2), UCLA (6), Arizona (8), Arizona State (14), Oregon State (22) and Oregon (23).

• Current Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week Brady Rodgers is featured in Baseball America's newest Golden Spikes Award Spotlight in Aaron Fitt's Three Strikes: Week Six post. The story on the Arizona State righty addresses his versatility and command on the mound, and includes video of his performances at Long Beach State and UCLA from earlier this month. Rodgers (4-0) was also placed on College Baseball 360's Primetime Performers Honor Roll for his one-run complete game against California last Friday.

• Stanford is ranked 10th among Division I schools in scoring, producing 133 runs over 17 games for an average of 7.8 per game.

• Five Pac-12 teams sit among the top 20 nationwide for hits allowed per nine innings: Stanford (2nd, 6.62), UCLA (6th, 6.89), Washington (10th, 7.03), Oregon (11th, 7.07), Arizona State (19th, 7.47). Three Conference pitching staffs are also in the top 20 for ERA: Stanford (13th, 2.67), Arizona State (16th, 2.70) and Oregon (20th, 2.76). The No. 2 Cardinal faces the team with the best ERA in the nation, St. Mary's (2.04), on Wednesday in Palo Alto.

• Oregon State junior infielder Tyler Smith has the sixth-highest batting average in the country through this past weekend at .463. The Pac-12 batting leader is followed by UCLA's Jeff Gelalich at .420 and USC's Matt Foat at .407.

• Pac-12 Player of the Week Beau Amaral went 7-for-10 (.700) with two doubles, one four-bagger, six runs and three RBI in UCLA's two wins versus Washington State over the weekend. His .319 batting average through Monday's contest with the Cougars is just the sixth-best for the Bruins, highlighting No. 6 UCLA's depth on offense. Both Amaral and teammate Trevor Brown currently own eight-game hitting streaks.

• Arizona's Bobby Brown and Riley Moore knocked out back-to-back solo home runs in the top of the ninth on Saturday to come from behind and beat then-No. 19 Oregon State in Corvallis, 5-4. Prior to Saturday's game, the Wildcats had tallied only two homers all season.

UPCOMING SCHEDULE

Tues., March 27
No. 23 OREGON vs. Texas State (1), 6:30 p.m. CT/4:30 p.m. PT
Brigham Young at UTAH, 6 p.m. MT/5 p.m. PT
CALIFORNIA at Fresno State, 6:05 p.m.
No. 13 Cal State Fullerton at No. 14 ARIZONA STATE, 6:30 p.m.

Wed., March 28

No. 23 OREGON vs. Texas State (1), 12 p.m. CT/10 a.m. PT
St. Mary's at No. 2 STANFORD, 5 p.m.
No. 13 Cal State Fullerton at No. 14 ARIZONA STATE, 6:30 p.m.
USC at UC Irvine, 6:30 p.m.

Fri., March 30
No. 6 UCLA at UTAH, 6 p.m.* MT/5 p.m. PT
USC at WASHINGTON STATE, 5:30 p.m.*
WASHINGTON at No. 22 OREGON STATE, 5:35 p.m.*
No. 14 ARIZONA STATE at No. 23 OREGON, 6 p.m.*
No. 2 STANFORD at No. 8 ARIZONA, 6 p.m.*
CALIFORNIA vs. No. 18 Texas (2), 7 p.m. CT/5 p.m. PT

Sat., March 31
No. 6 UCLA at UTAH, 1 p.m.*
CALIFORNIA vs. No. 18 Texas (DH) (2), 3:30 p.m. CT/1:30 p.m. PT
No. 14 ARIZONA STATE at No. 23 OREGON, 2 p.m.*
USC at WASHINGTON STATE, 2 p.m.*
WASHINGTON at No. 22 OREGON STATE, 2:05 p.m.*
No. 2 STANFORD at No. 8 ARIZONA, 6 p.m.*

Sun., April 1
CALIFORNIA vs. No. 18 Texas (2), 1 p.m. CT/11 a.m. PT
USC at WASHINGTON STATE, 11 a.m.*
No. 14 ARIZONA STATE at No. 23 OREGON, 12 p.m.*
No. 2 STANFORD at No. 8 ARIZONA, 12 p.m.*
No. 6 UCLA at UTAH, 1 p.m.*
WASHINGTON at No. 22 OREGON STATE, 1:05 p.m.*

Mon., April 2
St. Mary's at No. 2 STANFORD, 5:30 p.m.

(1) at San Marcos, Texas
(2) at Round Rock, Texas

*Pac-12 Conference Game
All times are Pacific Time unless otherwise noted.

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close