Seven Invited to National Team Camp

OKLAHOMA CITY - Seven Pac-12 softball players are among the 21 additional invitees to the 2012 USA Softball Women's National Team Selection Camp, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced Thursday. The camp will be held June 10-12, in Ashland, Ohio. Twelve athletes were named to the National Team roster in January. These 21 additional nominees will vie for the remaining spots on the National Team roster, which will be announced on June 13.

The 17 athletes selected to the USA Softball roster will compete in six different events in the United States and Canada. The remaining athletes who are not selected to the Women's National Team will make up the 2012 USA Softball Women's Elite National Team and will face the National Team in exhibition play.

Among the 12 athletes who were named to the National Team are Pac-12 Player of the Year, CALIFORNIA senior utility player Valerie Arioto, former ARIZONA STATE outfielder Kaitlin Cochran and former ARIZONA infielder Jenae Leles.

The 21 athletes who have accepted an invitation to try-out for the remaining spots on the Women's National Team and the 2012 USA Softball Women's Elite National Team are:
Lexy Bennett (Kingwood, Texas/Texas senior)
Katelyn Boyd (Phoenix, Ariz./Arizona State senior)?
Elizabeth Caporuscio (Lake Arrowhead, Calif./Arizona State freshman)
?Lauren Chamberlain (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./Oklahoma freshman)?
Amanda Chidester  (Allen Park, Mich./Michigan senior)?
Dallas Escobedo  (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona State sophomore)?
Sam Fischer (Simi Valley, Calif./Loyola Marymount senior)?
Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz./Arizona junior)?
Rebecca Gamby (Mount Victory, Ohio/Marshall senior)?
Jolene Henderson (Elk Grove, Calif./California junior)
?Taylor Hoagland (Flower Mound, Texas/Texas junior)?
Kaitlin Inglesby (Portland, Ore./Washington sophomore)?
Destinee Martinez (Corona, Calif./Oklahoma sophomore)
Meagan May (Spring, Texas/Texas A&M junior)?
Sara Nevins (Pinellas Park, Fla./South Florida sophomore)
Christi Orgeron (New Orleans, La./Louisiana Lafayette senior)?
Ellen Renfroe (Jackson, Tenn./Tennessee sophomore)?
Janine Richardson (Auburndale, Fla./South Florida senior)?
Madison Shipman (Valencia, Calif./Tennessee sophomore)
Jessica Shults (Valencia, Calif./Oklahoma junior)?
Lindsey Ziegenhirt (Elk Grove, Calif./California junior)

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder