Baker-Slama, Schnieders, Houlihan Take Most Valuable Runner Awards At XC Banquet

TEMPE, Ariz.—The Arizona State cross country teams held its yearly banquet on Wednesday, with 10 Sun Devils taking home the team awards.
The Most Valuable Runner awards went to Garrett Barker-Slama and Steven Schnieders on the men’s side while two-time All-American Shelby Houlihan took home the honors on the women’s side.
Houlihan finished eighth at the 2013 NCAA Cross Country championships, the best finish of her career and ASU’s best finish since Lisa Aguilera finished fifth in 2000.
“The cross country banquet is a great opportunity to recognize our student-athletes and their accomplishments throughout the past season,” women’s cross country coach Ryan Cole said. “It’s also a great opportunity to get our entire program together as we move into a competitively successful track season.”
Ryan Herson picked up the Santos Castro Coaches Award for the men, while Jenna Maack was honored with the Drenth/Quintana Coaches Award for the women.
Best Newcomer honors went to Bernie Montoya and Chiara Warner, while Garrett Seawell, Adriana Olivas, and Shaina Corbin were honored as Most Improved.
Montoya earned All-West Region honors as he finished in 20th place at the regional meet in Sacramento on Nov. 15, and Seawell led the Sun Devil men in three of ASU’s six races, the Griak Invitational (Sept. 28), the Wisconsin Invite (Oct. 19), and the Pac-12 Championships (Nov. 2).
“It was great to celebrate the cross country year with the entire track and field program in attendance,” men’s head coach Louie Quintana said. “This is the first year we have had the entire track and field program at the cross country banquet and we plan on continuing this new tradition from this year forward.”
The 2014 track and field season begins in January in Flagstaff.
Men’s AwardsSantos Castro Coaches Award – Ryan HersonBest Newcomer Award – Bernardo MontoyaMost Improved Award – Garrett SeawellMost Valuable Runner – Garrett Baker-Slama and Steven Schnieders
Women’s AwardsDrenth/Quintana Coaches Award – Jenna MaackBest Newcomer Award – Chiara WarnerMost Improved Award – Adriana Olivas and Shaina CorbinMost Valuable Runner – Shelby Houlihan