A record nine Pac-12 football teams in bowl games

Peter Vander Stoep

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Pac-12 Champion STANFORD leads a record nine Pac-12 teams into the postseason as bowl game selections were announced today.

Stanford received the Pac-12‘s automatic BCS qualifying berth into the Rose Bowl Game by virtue of its victory over Arizona State in last night’s Pac-12 Football Championship Game. The Cardinal will face Big Ten Champion Michigan State. It will be Stanford’s 14th appearance overall, and second straight appearance in the Rose Bowl game after defeating Wisconsin in last season’s game. This will be the fourth straight BCS Bowl game for the Cardinal as they participated in the 2011 Orange Bowl and 2012 Fiesta Bowl.

"We are extremely pleased with this year's bowl lineup after a remarkable Pac-12 season complete with strong performances on the field and fantastic story lines," said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott. "The record number of Pac-12 teams participating this bowl season is indicative of our great depth and bright future as one of the best conferences in the country."

In lieu of contracted arrangements with seven postseason bowl games, the Pac-12 managed to place all nine bowl eligible teams into the postseason.

The Pac-12 Bowl Schedule:

Sat., Dec. 21 Gildan New Mexico Bowl - Albuquerque, N.M. (University Stadium)
WASHINGTON STATE (6-6) vs. Colorado State (7-6), 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT, ESPN
 
Sat., Dec. 21 Royal Purple Las Vegas Bowl - Las Vegas, Nev. (Sam Boyd Stadium)
USC (9-4) vs. Fresno State (11-1), 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT, ABC
 
Tues., Dec. 24 Sheraton Hawai’i Bowl - Honolulu, Hawai’i (Aloha Stadium)
OREGON STATE (6-6) vs. Boise State (8-4), 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, ESPN
 
Fri., Dec. 27 Fight Hunger Bowl - San Francisco, Calif. (AT&T Park)
WASHINGTON (8-4) vs. BYU (8-4), 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT, ESPN
 
Mon., Dec. 30 Valero Alamo Bowl - San Antonio, Texas (Alamodome)
OREGON (10-2) vs. Texas (8-4), 6:45 p.m. ET/3:45 p.m. PT, ESPN
 
Mon., Dec. 30 National University Holiday Bowl - San Diego, Calif. (Qualcomm Stadium)
ARIZONA STATE (10-3) vs. Texas Tech (7-5), 10:15 p.m. ET/7:15 p.m. PT, ESPN
 
Tues., Dec. 31 AdvoCare V100 Bowl - Shreveport, La. (Independence Stadium)
ARIZONA (7-5) vs. Boston College (7-5), 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT, ESPN
 
Tues., Dec. 31 Hyundai Sun Bowl - El Paso, Texas (Sun Bowl)
UCLA (9-3) vs. Virginia Tech (8-4), 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT, CBS
 
Wed., Jan. 1 Rose Bowl Game presented by Vizio - Pasadena, Calif. (Rose Bowl)
STANFORD (11-2) vs. Michigan State (12-1), 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT, ESPN
Categories:
Pac-12 Networks TV
On Pac-12 Networks Now
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Los Angeles
  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Mountain
  • Pac-12 Oregon
  • Pac-12 Washington
  • Pac-12 Arizona
  • Pac-12 Bay Area