Pac-12 schools represented in Sochi

Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - With the start of the XXII Olympic Winter Games set to officially begin with the Opening Ceremony on Friday in Sochi, Russia, 16 delegates with ties to Pac-12 member institutions will be among the athletes competing for medals over the course of the 17 days of the Games.

Pac-12 schools have long had a significant impact on the Summer Olympic Games, most recently sending over 250 athletes, coaches and other officials to the 2012 Olympic Games. Athletes with Pac-12 ties won 19 gold medals in London, which would have ranked fifth among all countries if the league was a nation.

UTAH, who joined the Pac-12 in 2010, boasts the biggest contingent among league members with 10 delegates in Sochi, including former All-American Torin Koos, who was a skier and distance runner while at Utah. Joining Koos is former Ute, Scott Veenis, who is with Team USA as an alpine skiing assistant coach. Veenis was also an All-American and was an individual NCAA Champion in the giant slalom in 2006.

The Buffs’, who also joined the league in 2010, contingent of three represent Paraguay, Zimbabwe and Aremina. Arman Serebrakian was a 17-time NCAA Champion while in Boulder, he was named an assistant coach for the CU team, helping them win the program’s 18th NCAA title in 2011.

OREGON and USC will also have representation in Sochi. Laurenne Ross is a current student in Eugene and will compete in alpine skiing for Team USA, and Jung-Hwa Seo will represent South Korea in freestyle skiing.

The qualifying rounds for freestyle skiing and men’s figure skating began on Thursday, but the start of the Games will be celebrated on Friday, Feb. 7 with the competition going through the Closing Ceremony which is scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 23.


Name Country Gender Event School
Joss Christensen USA M Freestyle Skiing Utah
Annelies Cook USA W Biathlon Utah
Emily Cook USA W Freestyle Skiing Utah
Alyson Dudek USA W Speed Skating Utah
Steven Holcomb USA M Bobsled Utah
Torin Koos USA M Nordic Skiing Utah
Conor Lyne Ireland M Alpine Skiing Utah
Julia Marino Paraguay W Alpine Skiing Colorado
Patrick Meek USA M Speed Skating Utah
Steven Nyman USA M Alpine Skiing Utah
Laurenne Ross USA W Alpine Skiing Oregon
Jung-Hwa Seo South Korea W Freestyle Skiing USC
Arman Serebrakian Armenia M Alpine Skiing Colorado
Luke Steyn Zimbabwe M Alpine Skiing Colorado
Lindsey Van USA W Ski Jumping Utah
Scott Veenis USA M Alpine Skiing Utah


Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder