Women’s Tennis to Compete at June Stewart Invite

By Lindsay Gaesser, SDA Media Relations

NASHVILLE, Tenn.—The Arizona State women’s tennis team heads to Nashville this weekend for the June Stewart Invitational, to be held at Vanderbilt’s Currey Tennis Center.  The Sun Devils will face players from Princeton, Purdue, and Vanderbilt throughout the three-day tournament.

With all four teams ending the 2014 season ranked in the top 45, Arizona State has a great opportunity to pair-up against three competitive collegiate teams.  Leading the field, Vandy finished last season’s campaign just outside the top 10 at 11th.  Of the visiting teams, Arizona State is ranked the highest at No. 32, followed by Princeton at No. 36 and Purdue at No. 43. 

Last time out, Arizona State made a solid showing at its first tournament of the 2014-15 season.  Eighth-seeded Kassidy Jump won the blue singles consolation finals at the Cal Nike Fall Invitational, defeating San Jose State’s Marie Klocker.  Ebony Panoho advanced to the semifinals in the blue singles flight, but lost to third-seeded Maegan Manasse of Cal, who went on to capture the top singles title. 

Due to rain in the forecast, Friday’s tournament action is set to begin inside at 9 a.m. CDT/7 a.m. MST.  Saturday’s play will begin at 10 a.m. CDT/8 a.m. MST.    

June Stewart Invitational – Friday Schedule
2 of 3 sets no ad, 10-pt match tie breaks for third sets
 
Morning Rounds (begin at 9 a.m. CDT/7 a.m. MST)
Singles
Arizona State vs. Purdue (3)
Vanderbilt vs. Princeton

Doubles
Arizona State vs. Princeton (2)
Vanderbilt vs. Purdue

Afternoon Rounds
Singles
Purdue vs. Vanderbilt (3)
Princeton vs. Arizona State (3)

Doubles
Purdue vs. Arizona State (2)
Princeton vs. Vanderbilt (2)

Now on Pac-12 Network
Live
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close