Pac-12 announces women's soccer all-conference honors

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced today the women’s soccer All-Pac-12 honors for the 2014 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. UCLA’s Sam Mewis was voted Pac-12 Player of the Year, while fellow Bruin Abby Dahlkemper was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. STANFORD’s Andi Sullivan was named Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year, and UCLA’s Katelyn Rowland was voted Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year. Bruin head coach Amanda Cromwell was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced. 

Pac-12 Player of the Year – Sam Mewis, M, UCLA
Sam Mewis (Hanson, Mass.) led the reigning NCAA Champion Bruins to their second-consecutive Pac-12 Championship, an unbeaten season with an 18-0-2 overall record, and a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Through the regular season, Mewis ranked first in the Pac-12 in points per game with 1.95, a mark that is 12th nationally, and is first in the league in total assists with 11 for a 0.55 assists-per-game average, which is 22nd in the nation. Her 14 goals on the year are tied for first in the league. The senior spearheaded a UCLA offense that outscored opponents 54-4 through the regular season, and outshot opponents 379-105. Mewis, a three-time second-team All-Pac-12 honoree, takes home first-team honors for the first time in her tenure as a Bruin, with 29 total goals and 30 assists in her career. 

Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year – Abby Dahlkemper, D, UCLA 
Abby Dahlkemper (Menlo Park, Calif.) anchored a Pac-12 Champion UCLA defense that extended its unbeaten streak to 41-straight games, limiting opponents to the best goals-against average (.196), shutout percentage (.800) and won-lost-tied percentage (.950) in the nation. The 2013 Honda Award winner, Dahlkemper and the Bruins allowed only four goals all season, holding their opponents to a .038 shots percentage and only 46 shots on goal. The senior, who took home first-team NSCAA All-American and All-Pacific Region honors last year, has earned first-team All-Pac-12 honors for four-straight years. 

Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year – Andi Sullivan, M, Stanford 
Andi Sullivan (Lorton, Va.), who has started 18 games in 19 appearances in her first year, has been a key part of Stanford’s offense and defense. The freshman tallied one goal and three assists on the season after starting the first two-thirds of the season at midfield, then shifting over to central defense in late October. Sullivan has been a staple in a Cardinal lineup that outscored opponents 47-8 and earned a No. 1 seed in the 2014 NCAA Tournament with a 17-1-2 record, posting 15 shutouts and riding a seven-game winning streak into the postseason. 

Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year – Katelyn Rowland, GK, UCLA 
Katelyn Rowland (Vacaville, Calif.) has had a record-setting season in her senior year, leading the Bruins to the league title while tying the NCAA record for career shutouts with 52. Rowland also broke her own school records for single-season shutouts (16), consecutive shutouts in a season (7) and consecutive shutout minutes in a season (667). The senior, who has been between the pipes for all 1,840 minutes this season for UCLA, has led the Bruins to the best team save percentage in the nation with a mark of .913. She finished the regular season with just four goals allowed and a goals-against average of 0.20, the best individual average in the nation.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year – Amanda Cromwell, UCLA 
Second-year head coach Amanda Cromwell led a Bruins program that picked up its second-consecutive Pac-12 title and ninth outright overall in 2014, along with a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Tournament. Cromwell, the reigning Soccer America Coach of the Year, coached the Bruins to an 18-0-2 record this season, while leading the nation in save percentage (.913), goals-against average (.196), shutout percentage (.800) and won-lost-tied percentage (.950).


Name Pos. Yr. School
McKenzie Berryhill D Jr. Arizona State
Abby Dahlkemper *** D Sr. UCLA
Cali Farquharson F Jr. Arizona State
Sarah Killion ** M Sr. UCLA
Lo'eau LaBonta M Sr. Stanford
Sam Mewis M Sr. UCLA
Kayla Mills D So. USC
Katelyn Rowland * GK Sr. UCLA
Jaclyn Softli F Sr. Washington
Andi Sullivan M Fr. Stanford
Chioma Ubogagu F Sr. Stanford
Name Pos. Yr. School
Maddie Bauer D So. Stanford
Kate Bennett M 5Sr. Washington
Jane Campbell GK So. Stanford
Taylor Comeau M Sr. California
Tori Cooper D Sr. Colorado
Ally Courtnall D Sr. UCLA
Brie Hooks F So. Colorado
Nicole Setterlund M Sr. Washington State
Taylor Smith F Jr. UCLA
Gabi Stoian F Fr. Arizona
Katie Taylor M Sr. Utah

Honorable Mention: Stephanie Amack (STAN, So., D); Gurveen Clair (WSU, RSr., GK); Alexandra Doller (ARIZ, Sr., F); Jamie Fink (USC, Jr., M); Laura Liedle (STAN, Jr., D); Annia Mejia (CAL, Fr., D); Aly Moon (ASU, Fr., M); Megan Oyster (UCLA, Sr., D); Bri Pugh (ORE, Sr., M); Abby Steele (ORE, Sr., GK).

* Two-time All-Pac-12 honoree (First Team) ** Three-time All-Pac-12 honoree (First Team) *** Four-time All-Pac-12 honoree (First Team)


Name Pos. School
Emily Boyd GK California
Jordan Branch D Washington State
Mariah Elmer F Utah
Zoey Goralski D UCLA
Kimberly Keever F Washington
Annia Mejia D California
Aly Moon F Arizona State
Sydney Sladek M USC
Gabi Stoian F Arizona
Andi Sullivan M Stanford
Caitlyn Wong D Oregon
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: Inside Pac-12 Football Media Day Special (North Division)
    Wed 7/25 | 1:30am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
  • Football: Inside Pac-12 Football Media Day Special (South Division)
    Wed 7/25 | 6:00am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder