Football’s Strong Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist

TEMPE, Ariz. – Arizona State redshirt junior wide receiver Jaelen Strong has been named a semifinalist for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation’s most outstanding receiver, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., announced Monday.

Strong leads the team with 71 catches for 982 receiving yards and nine touchdowns this season. He ranks in the top 15 in the nation and top four in the Pac-12 in receiving yards and touchdowns, and receiving yards and receptions per game.

The three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 24 and the 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 11 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald.

Fans may now help determine which three receivers will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote website. Fan voting will close on Nov. 23. 

He recorded 202 receiving yards and three touchdowns on 10 receptions, including the game-winning Hail Mary catch, against USC, and tied his career high with 12 receptions against UCLA to become the first receiver in school history with 12 or more catches in two games. He also became the first Sun Devil since Keith Poole in 1996 to catch a touchdown pass in five consecutive games during a stretch from Oct. 4 to Nov. 8.

He has 2,104 career receiving yards and is 45 yards short of moving into ASU’s top eight. His 146 career receptions rank seventh in school history, and he currently holds the fifth and sixth spots, respectively, on the school’s list for most receptions in a single season. He is averaging 98.2 yards per game in 2014 and 87.7 in his career, which is more than nine yards higher than the school’s current record holder.

Strong has four 100-yard receiving games this season and 11 in his career, which ranks as the third most in school history behind Shaun McDonald (12) and Derek Hagan (18). 

He has 16 touchdown catches in his two-year career and is one touchdown away in 2014 from becoming just the 10th receiver in school history to record double-digit touchdown receptions in a single season. 

Strong led the team with 75 receptions and 1,122 receiving yards in 2013 en route to Second Team All-Pac-12 honors. He finished the season with seven 100-plus yard games and played a major part in the Devils’ historic offense, which finished 10th nationally at 39.7 points per game and scored 556 total points, just six points behind the 1972 school record.

Semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award (listed in alphabetical order):   
Nelson Agholor, University of Southern California, Jr.

Amari Cooper, University of Alabama, Sr.

Rashad Greene, Florida State University, Sr.

Rashard Higgins, Colorado State University, So.
Tyler Lockett, Kansas State University, Sr.

Vince Mayle, Washington State University, RS-Sr.
Sterling Shepard, University of Oklahoma, Jr.

Nelson Spruce, University of Colorado, Jr.

Jaelen Strong, Arizona State University, RS-Jr.

Kevin White, West Virginia University, Sr.

Single-game tickets for the Sun Devils’ final home game of the year against Washington State on Nov. 22 at 11 a.m. are still available. The matchup against the Cougars is Senior Day, as well as the annual Sun Devil Club and Junior Sun Devil Club game. Tickets can be purchased by calling the Sun Devil Athletic Ticket Office at 480-727-000 or by clicking here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder