Roundup: National Signing Day revisited

@wsucougarfootball/Instagram

Stanford

There were plenty of interesting stories to come out of Wednesday's National Signing Day, and here’s one of the more unique ones – Stanford signed Thomas Schaffer, the first Austrian-born FBS player according to Graham Watson of Yahoo! Sports.

Arizona State

Not all of the signees are freshmen – plenty of JUCO guys are headed to Pac-12 schools, and Glendale Community College prospect-turned-Arizona State signee Christian Hill has already served four years in the Air Force.

Washington State

Washington State made headlines Wednesday by tweeting illustrations of signees dabbing, but Mike Leach doesn’t understand what dabbing is and had to have it explained to him at his press conference Wednesday.

Washington

This is an old article but now that he has signed to Washington, it roundup-kosher. So please do yourself a favor and read this piece from Richard Obert of The Arizona Republic on Washington signee Byron Murphy and his bond with his cousins who have a rare form of dwarfism.

USC

Now here’s a way to announce your decision – Five-star recruit Jack Jones committed to USC in a video interview with Snoop Dogg. Jones played in Snoop’s youth football league growing up.

California

Here’s a shocker of a headline – Cal football coach Sonny Dykes likes his recruiting class. Jon Shea of the San Francisco Chronicle provides the details.

UCLA

While Jim Mora was busy hauling in a top-15 recruiting class, UCLA women’s soccer signed the No. 1 recruit in the nation in Mallory Pugh. The Highlands Ranch, Colo., native is competing with USWNT as they try to qualify for Rio.

Oregon

NFL.com’s latest mock draft has Oregon quarterback Vernon Adams being selected by Chip Kelly and the 49ers in the fourth round. That would sure be fun to watch.

Utah

CBS Sports’ Jon Rothstein observes that Jakob Poeltl has led Utah to five straight wins, averaging 24.3 points and 8.7 rebounds in his last three games as the Utes have moved to 6-3 in conference play. Utah visits Oregon State Thursday night (8 p.m. PT/9 p.m. MT, ESPN2).

Colorado

Having already taken care of the Ducks in Boulder, Colorado men’s basketball now wants a signature win at Oregon, writes Pat Rooney. The Buffs can at least get a share of first place with a win Thursday night (6 p.m. PT/7 p.m. MT, FOX Sports 1).

Arizona

Here’s a preview of a video taking you inside the mind of Arizona basketball coach Sean Miller. The full feature will air during the “Basketball Pre-Game Show” Thursday at 7 p.m. PT/8 p.m. MT on Pac-12 Network.

Oregon State

The votes are in, and the conference coaches have picked Oregon State baseball as the favorite to win the Pac-12. UCLA and Cal are picked to finish second and third, respectively.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close