Roundup: Pac-12 Tournament gives new life to ASU, others

Steve Rodriguez/Arizona State University Athletics

Arizona State

The Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament starts Wednesday, with every first-round game on Pac-12 Networks, so take a look at Doug Haller’s Pac-12 tournament guide. While we’re here, let’s discuss how the Pac-12 tournament gives Arizona State a final shot (also a Haller link). The Sun Devils open up with Oregon State (8:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. MT, or thereabouts).

Oregon State

On the other side, Oregon State knows it needs to do some work in Vegas to nab its first NCAA tournament berth since 1990. The Beavers appear to be squarely on the bubble entering Wednesday.

Washington

As No. 8 Washington opens the action against No. 9 Stanford (noon PT/1 p.m. MT), Percy Allen reminds us that Stanford has held Andrew Andrews in check before – the Cardinal kept Andrews to eight points on 0-for-3 shooting (8-9 FT).

California

You won’t hear from the third-seeded Golden Bears on Wednesday, but Cal is looking to continue its hot streak in Las Vegas, notes Jeff Faraudo. The Golden Bears enter tourney play winners of eight of their last nine.

Colorado

After a couple of close calls in the regular season, Colorado hopes it can pull off a third win against Washington State (2:30 p.m. PT/3:30 p.m. MT). The Cougs took the Buffs to OT in Boulder and also played the Buffs tough in Pullman.

Utah

Intriguing article from Kurt Kragthorpe of The Salt Lake Tribune on Utah basketball point guard Brandon Taylor and the ups and downs of his senior season. The Utes await the winner of USC-UCLA in Las Vegas.

UCLA

No surprise that UCLA would dominate the Pac-12 men’s basketball all-century team, with John Wooden being named coach of the century and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar being named player of the century.

USC

Dieter Kurtenbach of FOX Sports thinks USC is home to one of the 10 most important spring quarterback battles across the country. Max Browne and Sam Darnold will be working to replace Cody Kessler.

Arizona

It sounds like Brandon Dawkins could give Anu Solomon a run for the starting quarterback job at Arizona, Chantel Jennings writes. Dawkins got starter reps last weekend with Solomon nursing an injury.

Oregon

Preston Hiefeld of KVAL Sports takes a walk around campus with Oregon quarterback Dakota Prukop. The two talk about Prukop picking Oregon over ‘Bama, among other topics.

Washington State

Chantel Jennings catches up with Olympian (and Stanford alum) Tony Azevedo to break down the water polo skills of the Washington State football team. There was a video that surfaced a few weeks ago of the Cougs playing some water polo, or their own version of it.

Stanford

So Stanford football coach David Shaw doesn’t think 7-on-7 is football, speaking about it at the Nike Coach of the Year clinic (Chantel Jennings).

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close