Pac-12 adds two more women's basketball postseason bids

Eric Evans Photography

SAN FRANCISCO - OREGON and UTAH have accepted invitations to participate in the 64-team 2016 Women’s NIT late Monday night, giving the Pac-12 seven women’s basketball teams participating in the postseason after five teams received NCAA Tournament bids on Monday. Both the Ducks and the Utes will host first-round WNIT games.

The Ducks tipoff the postseason against Long Beach State on Thursday, March 17. It is the second postseason appearance in three years for Oregon and the first under second-year head coach Kelly Graves. UO went 20-10 during the regular season and 9-9 in Conference play, making it the first 20-win season and the most league wins for the program since 2005.

Utah makes a return to the postseason after a two-year absence when the Utes advanced to the WNIT final in 2013, hosting Montana State on Friday, March 18. Under first-year head coach Lynne Roberts, Utah nearly tripled its Conference win total from last year, winning eight games and has won seven more games than all of last year. Utah was also picked to finish 11th in the preseason by the league’s coaches and ended the season in seventh place, one game out of finishing in the top half of the standings.

Earlier on Monday, the Division I NCAA Tournament Committee made its announcement of the 64-team field playing for a national championship. The Pac-12 received five bids for the third-consecutive year, a first in the history of the league. ARIZONA STATE and OREGON STATE reached received No. 2 seeds, the highest in the history of both programs. UCLA is a three seed, STANFORD a four seed and WASHINGTON is a seven seed. ASU, OSU, Stanford and UCLA will also host first- and second-round games. NCAA Tournament action begins on Friday, March 18.

For more information on the WNIT, visit the participating schools’ website or www.womensnit.com.
 

PAC-12 IN THE POSTSEASON
WNIT SCHEDULE
Thursday, March 19
Long Beach State at OREGON, 6 p.m. PT

Friday, March 18
Montana State at UTAH, 7 p.m. MT

 

NCAA TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE
DALLAS REGIONAL
Friday, March 18 • First Round (Corvallis, Ore.)
#10 St. Bonaventure (23-7) vs. #7 Oklahoma State (21-9), 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#15 Troy (20-12) at #2 OREGON STATE (28-4), 2 p.m PT/5 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Sunday, March 20 • Second Round (Corvallis, Ore.)
First round game winners, TBA

 

LEXINGTON REGIONAL
Saturday, March 19 • First Round (Stanford, Calif.)
#12 South Dakota (26-6) vs. #5 Miami (Fla.) (24-8), 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#13 San Francisco (21-11) at #4 STANFORD (24-7), 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Monday, March 21 • Second Round (Stanford, Calif.)
First round game winners, TBA

Saturday, March 19 • First Round (College Park, Md.)
#7 WASHINGTON (22-9) vs. #10 Pennsylvania (24-4), 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#15 Iona (23-11) at #2 Maryland (30-3), 10:30 a.m. PT/1:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Monday, March 21 • Second Round (College Park, Md.)
First round game winners, TBA

 

SIOUX FALLS REGIONAL
Friday, March 18 • First Round (Tempe, Ariz.)
#10 Green Bay (28-4) vs. #7 Tennessee (19-13), 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#15 New Mexico State (26-4) at #2 ARIZONA STATE (25-6), 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Sunday, March 20 • Second Round (Tempe, Ariz.)
First round game winners, TBA

 

BRIDGEPORT REGIONAL
Saturday, March 19 • First Round (Los Angeles, Calif.)
#11 Colorado State (31-1) vs. #6 South Florida (23-9), 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#14 Hawai’i (21-10) at #3 UCLA (24-8), 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Monday, March 21 • Second Round (Los Angeles, Calif.)
First round game winners, TBA

Now on Pac-12 Network
Live
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close