This week in Pac-12 women's basketball

Eric Evans Photography

• DOWNLOAD COMPLETE RELEASE (PDF)

• Five Pac-12 teams have earned NCAA Tournament bids for the third-consecutive year, a first for the history of the Conference which dates back to 1986-87, and four home sites for the first and second rounds. ARIZONA STATE and OREGON STATE were each rewarded with a No. 2 seed, the highest seeding in the history of each of the programs. UCLA earned a No. 3 seed, STANFORD received a No. 4 seed and WASHINGTON is a No. 7 seed.

• In addition to the five NCAA teams, OREGON and UTAH earned WNIT bids, each hosting a first-round game. Each has had breakout seasons, returning to the postseason after short absences.

• For the first time ever, the Pac-12 has four teams ranked in the final Associated Press’ top 15. It is also the second-straight year and only the fourth time ever the Conference has had four teams in the final polling. OSU earned its highest-ever final ranking at No. 6. UCLA is No. 10 in the poll, followed by No. 11 ASU and No. 13 Stanford.

• The Beavers host a first and second round for the second-straight year and make their eighth-all-time appearance in the postseason event. OSU’s third-straight appearance matches a program best, dating back to 1994-96.

• In the Sioux Falls Region, ASU is making a third-straight trip to the Big Dance, their best streak since going five years in a row from 2005-09, and 14th appearance overall.

• The Stanford campus has hosted 62 NCAA Tournament games since 1982. It has also appeared in the postseason event every year since 1988, a streak of 29 years and 30 years overall.

• UCLA makes a return to the NCAA Tournament after winning the WNIT last year. The have posted the program’s fourth 20-win campaign in seven years, each one of those seasons resulting in a NCAA Tournament bid.

• The Huskies made a return to the NCAA Tournament last year for the first time in eight years. This year, they are making back-to-back showings in the tournament for the first time since 1997-98. UW has recorded its fifth-straight 20-win season, its longest streak since posting seven 20-win campaigns from 1985-1991.

• CALIFORNIA’s Kristine Anigwe was named a finalist for the USBWA National Freshman of the Year honor. UO’s Jillian Alleyne, UCLA’s Jordin Canada, UW’s Kelsey Plum and OSU’s Jamie Weisner were among the 32 candidates listed for the WBCA’s Wade Watch. The Wade Trophy is presented to the nation’s top-collegiate player.



NCAA TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE  
DALLAS REGIONAL  
Friday, March 18 • First Round (Corvallis, Ore.)  
#10 St. Bonaventure (23-7) vs. #7 Oklahoma St. (21-9) 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET
#15 Troy (20-12) at #2 OREGON STATE (28-4) 2 p.m PT/5 p.m. ET
Sunday, March 20 • Second Round (Corvallis, Ore.)  
First round game winners, TBA  
LEXINGTON REGIONAL  
Saturday, March 19 • First Round (Stanford, Calif.)  
#12 South Dakota (26-6) vs. #5 Miami (Fla.) (24-8) 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET
#13 San Francisco (21-11) at #4 STANFORD (24-7) 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET
Monday, March 21 • Second Round (Stanford, Calif.)  
First round game winners, TBA  
Saturday, March 19 • First Round (College Park, Md.)  
#7 WASHINGTON (22-9) vs. #10 Pennsylvania (24-4) 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET
#15 Iona (23-11) at #2 Maryland (30-3) 10:30 a.m. PT/1:30 p.m. ET
Monday, March 21 • Second Round (College Park, Md.)  
First round game winners, TBA  
SIOUX FALLS REGIONAL  
Friday, March 18 • First Round (Tempe, Ariz.)  
#10 Green Bay (28-4) vs. #7 Tennessee (19-13) 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET
#15 New Mexico St. (26-4) at #2 ARIZONA ST. (25-6) 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET
Sunday, March 20 • Second Round (Tempe, Ariz.)  
First round game winners, TBA  
BRIDGEPORT REGIONAL  
Saturday, March 19 • First Round (Los Angeles, Calif.)  
#11 Colorado State (31-1) vs. #6 South Florida (23-9) 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET
#14 Hawai’i (21-10) at #3 UCLA (24-8) 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET
Monday, March 21 • Second Round (Los Angeles, Calif.)  
First round game winners, TBA  
   
WNIT SCHEDULE  
Thursday, March 19  
Long Beach State at OREGON 6 p.m. PT
Friday, March 18  
Montana State at UTAH 7 p.m. MT
Now on Pac-12 Network
Live
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close