This week in Pac-12 women's basketball: Four Pac-12 teams in Sweet 16 for first time in history

Karl Maasdam/Oregon State Athletics

DOWNLOAD COMPLETE RELEASE (PDF)

• For the first time in the history of the Conference, the Pac-12 has four teams in the NCAA Sweet 16. The Conference is 9-1 in the NCAA Tournament this season, already tying for the most tournament wins in a season.

• Representing the Pac-12 in the regional tournaments, #2 OREGON STATE is headed to Dallas and #3 UCLA goes to Bridgeport for the regional semifinals. #4 STANFORD and #7 WASHINGTON are in Lexington for the Sweet 16.

• It’s been a long-time coming for three of the Conference’s Sweet 16 squads. After upsetting #2-seeded Maryland, WASHINGTON advances to the third round for the first time since 2001, while UCLA is in the NCAA Sweet 16 for the first time since 1999. OREGON STATE snaps a drought of 33 years, last making an appearance in the Sweet 16 in 1983, and it is the first time the Beavers have advanced that far since the tournament expanded to 64 teams. Meanwhile, STANFORD continues a long tradition of participation in the NCAA Tournament, advancing to the Sweet 16 for the ninth-consecutive year.

• In addition to the four NCAA Tournament teams still competing, OREGON and UTAH have advanced to the third round of the WNIT, eaching posting dominating wins so far. With their victories in the WNIT, the Pac-12 boasts a 13-1 postseason record so far.

• Five Pac-12 teams have earned NCAA Tournament bids for the third-consecutive year, a first for the history of the Conference which dates back to 1986-87, and four home sites for the first and second rounds. Four of the five teams are still alive, with second-seeded ARIZONA STATE falling in the second round.

• In addition to the five NCAA teams, OREGON and UTAH earned WNIT bids, each hosting a first-round game. Each has had breakout seasons, returning to the postseason after short absences. Both face off in the third round.

• For the first time ever, the Pac-12 has four teams ranked in the final Associated Press’ top 15. It is also the second-straight year and only the fourth time ever the Conference has had four teams in the final polling. OSU earned its highest-ever final ranking at No. 6. UCLA is No. 10 in the poll, followed by No. 11 ASU and No. 13 Stanford.

• CALIFORNIA’s Kristine Anigwe was named a finalist for the USBWA National Freshman of the Year honor. UO’s Jillian Alleyne, UCLA’s Jordin Canada, UW’s Kelsey Plum and OSU’s Jamie Weisner were among the 32 candidates listed for the WBCA’s Wade Watch. The Wade Trophy is presented to the nation’s top-collegiate player.

THIS WEEK IN PAC-12 WOMENS BASKETBALL

DALLAS REGIONAL
Saturday, March 26 • Sweet Sixteen
#6 DePaul (27-8) vs. #2 OREGON STATE (30-4) 3:30 p.m PT/6:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
#1 Baylor (35-1) vs. #5 Florida State (25-7) 1p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Monday, March 28 • Elite Eight
Sweet Sixteen game winners, TBA
 
LEXINGTON REGIONAL
Friday, March 25 • Sweet Sixteen
#3 Kentucky (25-7) vs. #7 WASHINGTON (22-9) 4 p.m PT/7 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#1 Notre Dame (33-3) vs. #4 STANFORD (26-7) 6:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. ET (ESPN)
Sunday, March 27 • Elite Eight
Sweet Sixteen game winners, TBA
 
BRIDGEPORT REGIONAL
Saturday, March 26 • Sweet Sixteen
#2 Texas (30-4) vs. #3 UCLA (26-8) 11 a.m PT/2 p.m. ET (ESPN)
#1 Connecticut (34-0) vs. #5 Mississippi St. (28-7) 11:30 a.m. ET (ESPN)
Monday, March 28 • Elite Eight
First round game winners, TBA
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close