NCAA Softball Super Regionals: Utah, Washington both drop game one

Utah

Utah battled until the end, but couldn't overcome a late flurry of runs from No. 8 Florida State, as the Seminoles took game one of the NCAA Super Regionals, 6-2. Katie Donovan settled into a rhythm on the mound early for the Utes, allowing two runs in the fourth before Kay Kay Fronda knocked a solo shot over the fence to make it 2-1. FSU put the game away, though, in the bottom of the sixth. A double from Alex Powers made it 3-1, and a three-run home run off the bat of Cali Harrod put the 'Noles up by five and knocked Donovan out of the game. 

The Utes made it interesting in the top of the seventh, as three singles from Hailey Hilburn, Ally Dickman, and Delilah Pacheco loaded the bases before Fronda's RBI single made it 6-2. But that'd be all Utah would get. Game two will be Saturday at 1:30 pm PT/2:30 pm MT on ESPN2. They'll have Utah baseball cheering them on. 

Washington

Washington dropped a heartbreaker in extra innings as Alabama took game one of the Super Regionals 2-1 in eight innings. The Huskies got on the board first when they capitalized on a Crimson Tide error in the top of the second, but Alexis Osorio settled down and pitched a gem for Alabama. She ended up throwing all eight innings for the Tide, striking out an impressive 13 Huskies. 

Bama tied the game up in the fourth inning on a bases-loaded walk, and the game stayed tied for four more innings, as the teams traded base runners but not runs. With the bases juiced again in the eighth, Demi Turner delivered a single to score Merris Schroder and give Alabama the win. 

The teams will face off again on Saturday at 2:30 pm PT/3:30 pm MT. 

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close