2016-17 Pac-12
Bowl Season

Complete coverage of Pac-12 football teams in postseason bowl games

Washington Headed to Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl for CFP Semifinal, USC Tabbed for Rose Bowl

SAN FRANCISCO -- Pac-12 Champion No. 4 WASHINGTON (12-1) has earned one of the four coveted spots in the College Football Playoff Semifinals and will face No. 1 Alabama (13-0) in the Chic-fil-A Peach Bowl on Sat., Dec. 31.

The Huskies captured their first Pac-12 title since 2000 when they defeated Colorado, 41-10, in Friday’s Pac-12 Football Championship Game. Washington will be making its seventh consecutive bowl appearance, and 37th overall.  

No. 9 USC (9-3), which finished the regular season on an eight-game winning streak, was selected to play in the Rose Bowl presented by Northwest Mutual where it will meet No. 5 Penn State (11-2) from the Big Ten Conference on Mon., Jan. 2, 2017. The Trojans will be making their 34th trip to the Rose Bowl, and their first since 2009 when they also played Penn State.

No. 10 COLORADO (10-3), the Pac-12 South Division champion, will meet No. 12 Oklahoma State (9-3) in the Valero Alamo Bowl on Thurs., Dec. 29. The Buffaloes will be making their 29th postseason appearance, their first as a member of the Pac-12, and their first bowl appearance overall since 2007.

WASHINGTON STATE (8-4) has been selected to play in the National Funding Holiday Bowl and will meet the Big Ten’s Minnesota (8-4) on Tues., Dec. 27. The Cougars are making their 13th bowl appearance overall and back-to-back postseason games since 2001-03 when they capped a stretch of three straight bowl games with a victory over Texas in the 2003 Holiday Bowl.

No. 19 UTAH (8-4) will play in the Foster Farms Bowl opposite the Big Ten’s Indiana (6-6) on Wed., Dec. 28. It’s the second appearance for the Utes in the San Francisco Bay Area bowl game, having appeared in the 2005 Emerald Bowl.

No. 18 STANFORD (9-3) will meet the ACC’s North Carolina (8-4) in the Hyundai Sun Bowl on Fri., Dec. 30. It’s Stanford’s 27th postseason appearance and fourth trip to El Paso, Texas for the Sun Bowl.

The Pac-12, which had three teams ranked in the final CFP Top 10, did not have enough teams eligible to fill its two remaining contracted bowls (Vegas, Cactus). Those bowls are free to choose a bowl-eligible replacement team from another conference or group of independent teams.

The 2016-17 Pac-12 Bowl Schedule

Tues., Dec. 27 – National Funding Holiday Bowl – San Diego, Calif. (Qualcomm Stadium)
Minnesota (8-4) vs. WASHINGTON STATE (8-4), 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT, ESPN

Wed., Dec. 28 - Foster Farms Bowl – Santa Clara, Calif. (Levi’s Stadium)
Indiana (6-6) vs. No. 19 UTAH (8-4), 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT, FOX

Thurs., Dec. 29 - Valero Alamo Bowl – San Antonio, Texas (Alamodome)
No. 12 Oklahoma State (9-3) vs. No. 10 COLORADO (10-3), 9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT, ESPN

Fri., Dec. 30 - Hyundai Sun Bowl – El Paso, Texas (Sun Bowl)
North Carolina (8-4) vs. No. 18 STANFORD (9-3), 2:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. PT, CBS

Sat., Dec. 31 – Chic-fil-A Peach Bowl/CFP Semifinal – Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Dome)
No. 4 WASHINGTON (12-1) vs. No. 1 Alabama (13-0), 3:00 p.m. ET/12 noon PT, ESPN

Mon., Jan. 2 - Rose Bowl Game Presented by Northwestern Mutual – Pasadena, Calif. (Rose Bowl)
No. 9 USC (9-3) vs. No. 5 Penn State (11-2), 5:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. PT, ESPN

Mon., Jan. 9 – College Football Championship Game – Tampa, Fla. (Raymond James Stadium)
Washington or Alabama vs. Ohio State or Clemson, 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT, ESPN

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close