Pac-12 Acknowledges Officiating Error in UCLA Game

SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Conference acknowledged an error in officiating during the UCLA v. Hawai’i game on Saturday, September 9. 

With 5:21 remaining in the first quarter, the game officials and replay officials missed a targeting penalty that should have been called on Hawai’i.  The play in question was in direct violation of rule 9-1-4 (Targeting and Making Forcible Contact to Head or Neck Area of a Defenseless Player).

Additionally, during the UCLA v. Hawaii broadcast on Pac-12 Networks, the play in question was erroneously described by the Pac-12’s head of officiating. 

Eliminating contact to the head and neck area of defenseless opponents is a critical safety rule and the Pac-12 stands behind those rules and protecting student-athletes.  The Pac-12 will continue to work with its officials to ensure that they are diligent in enforcing player-safety rules.

Now on Pac-12 Network
Live
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Tue 4/24 | 6:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    Live
  • Beach Volleyball: Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championships - #8 Team vs #9 Team
    Thu 4/26 | 8:00am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    Live
  • Beach Volleyball: Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championships - #2 Team vs #7 Team
    Thu 4/26 | 9:45am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    Live
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close