1999-2000 Men's Tennis Year-In-Review

June 2000

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - STANFORD claimed the Conference Championship with perfect 7-0 record in Pac-10 play. Stanford went on to win their 17th NCAA team Championship, defeating Virginia Commonwealth 4-0. Also, Stanford's Alex Kim became the 13th player in Stanford history to win the NCAA men's Singles Championship, as he defeated Carlos Drada of Kentucky, 6-1, 6-1.

Stanford's Geoff Abrams and Alex Kim shared the Pac-10 Player of the Year award. Abrams defeated Kim in the Pac-10 Singles Championship 7-6, 6-7, 6-4. Brandon Kramer and Jong-Min Lee of UCLA were named the Doubles Team of the Year and Jean-Julien Rojer of UCLA was named Freshman of the Year.

Oregon head coach Chris Russell was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year after leading the Ducks to a tie for fifth place in the Pac-10 standings and a 12-9 record overall, the team's best mark in Russell's five seasons at Oregon. It is the first honor ever for an Oregon tennis coach.


Men's First Team
Geoff Abrams (STAN)
Alex Aybar (ARIZ)
Guillermo Carter (ORE)
Patrick Gottesleben (USC)
Jean Noel-Grinda (UCLA)
Alex Kim (STAN)
Brandon Kramer (UCLA)
Jong Min Lee (UCLA)
Alex Osterrieth (ASU)

Men's Second Team
Erik Dmytruk (CAL)
John Paul Fruttero (CAL)
Matt Hanlin (WASH)
K.J. Hippensteel (STAN)
Andrew Park (USC)
Jean-Julien Rojer (UCLA)

Men's Honorable Mention
Daniel Langre (USC)
Ryan Moore (USC)

Men's co-Players of the Year
Geoff Abrams (STAN)
Alex Kim (STAN)

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
Brandon Kramer/Jong Min Lee (UCLA)

Men's Freshman of the Year
Jean-Julien Rojer (UCLA)

Men's Coach of the Year
Chris Russell (ORE)

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder