1999-2000 Men's Golf Year-In-Review

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA STATE used a little home course advantage to capture its sixth consecutive Pac-10 title, and 11th Conference title overall. The Sun Devils covered the ASU Karsten Course in a 56-under par 1384, 37 strokes ahead of second place finisher OREGON STATE. Arizona State's team score was the lowest 72-hole score in Pac-10 Championships history by 19 strokes. Sun Devil junior Paul Casey captured his third consecutive Pac-10 individual title, a feat matched by only one other person - USC's Sherman Finger in 1964, '65 and '66. Casey's score of 265 tied his own record set at the 1999 Conference championships and sestablished a new Pac-10 Championships record of 23 strokes under par for the tournament. For his efforts, Casey was named the Pac-10 Golfer of the Year.

ARIZONA was the Pac-10's top finisher at the NCAA Tournament with a third place performance, just two strokes behind Oklahoma State and Georgia Tech. The Wildcats made a gallant effort in the final two days of the tournament, shooting 33-under par over the final 36 holes. Wildcat freshman Ricky Barnes tied for third with a 13-under par 275. Barnes was honored as the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year.

ARIZONA STATE's Randy Lein earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors for the seventh time in his career, the fifth time as coach of the Sun Devils.

Pac-10 Golfer of the Year: Paul Casey, Arizona State
Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Ricky Barnes, Arizona
Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Randy Lein, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder