1999-2000 Women's Tennis Year-In-Review

June 2000

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - STANFORD won the Pac-10 team title once again, as the Cardinal compiled an unblemished 25-0 mark and 8-0 posting in Pac-10 play during the regular season. Previously undefeated, the Cardinal came up one match short, losing the NCAA Championship 5-4 to Georgia. In NCAA singles action, Laura Granville defeated teammate and two-time Pac-10 Player of the Year Marissa Irvin 6-0, 6-4 to capture the indiviudal title. It was the first time in the 19 years of the competition that teammates met in the title match. In NCAA doubles competition, CALIFORNIA'S Claire Curran and Amy Jensen defeated Marissa Catlin and Lori Grey of Georgia 4-6, 6-1, and 7-5.

Sara Walker of UCLA beat Allison Bradshaw of Arizona State 6-1, 6-1, to win the Pac-10 women's singles title at 'The Ojai.' Lindsay Blau and Michelle Gough of Arizona defeated Tiffany Brymer and Kara Warkentin of USC 6-4, 3-6, and 7-5 to capture the doubles title.

Irvin repeated as the Pac-10 Tennis Player of the Year, becoming the seventh player to do so. Lindsay Blau and Michelle Gough of Arizona were named Doubles Team of the Year. Sara Walker of UCLA was named Freshman of the Year.

Stanford head coach Frank Brennan captured his third straight Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor (and eighth overall) in leading the Cardinal women to their 13th straight Conference title. Stanford was ranked No. 1 throughout the entire season.


Women's First Team
Allison Bradshaw (ASU)
Laura Granville (STAN)
Marissa Irvin (STAN)
Amy Jensen (CAL)
Kristina Kraszewski (WASH)
Sara Walker (UCLA)

Women's Second Team
Teryn Ashley (STAN)
Annica Cooper (UCLA)
Lauren Kalvaria (STAN)
Anita Kurimay (CAL)
Veronika Safarova (USC)
Kara Warkentin (USC)

Women's Honorable Mention
Lindsay Blau (ARIZ)
Karoline Borgersen (CAL)
Claire Curran (CAL)
Michelle Gough (ARIZ)
Gabriela Lastra (STAN)
Karin Palme (ASU)
Jewel Peterson (USC)
Abigail Spears (UCLA)
Keiko Tokuda (STAN)
Alina Wygonowska (ORE)

Women's Player of the Year
Marissa Irvin (STAN)

Women's Doubles Team of the Year
Lindsay Blau/Michelle Gough (ARIZ)

Women's Freshman of the Year
Sara Walker (UCLA)

Women's Coaches of the Year
Frank Brennen (STAN)
Richard Gallien (USC)

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder