2000 Pac-10 Men's and Women's Tennis Final Release

STANFORD claimed the Conference Championship with perfect 7-0 record in Pac-10 play. Stanford went on to win their 17th NCAA team Championship, defeating Virginia Commonwealth 4-0. Also, Stanford's Alex Kim became the 13th player in Stanford history to win the NCAA men's Singles Championship, as he defeated Carlos Drada of Kentucky, 6-1, 6-1.

Stanford's Geoff Abrams and Alex Kim shared the Pac-10 Player of the Year award. Abrams defeated Kim in the Pac-10 Singles Championship 7-6, 6-7, 6-4. Brandon Kramer and Jong-Min Lee of UCLA were named the Doubles Team of the Year and Jean-Julien Rojer of UCLA was named Freshman of the Year.

Oregon head coach Chris Russell was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year after leading the Ducks to a tie for fifth place in the Pac-10 standings and a 12-9 record overall, the team's best mark in Russell's five seasons at Oregon. It is the first honor ever for an Oregon tennis coach.

STANFORD won the Pac-10 team title once again, as the Cardinal compiled an unblemished 25-0 mark and 8-0 posting in Pac-10 play during the regular season. Previously undefeated, the Cardinal came up one match short, losing the NCAA Championship 5-4 to Georgia. In NCAA singles action, Laura Granville defeated teammate and two-time Pac-10 Player of the Year Marissa Irvin 6-0, 6-4 to capture the indiviudal title. It was the first time in the 19 years of the competition that teammates met in the title match. In NCAA doubles competition, CALIFORNIA'S Claire Curran and Amy Jensen defeated Marissa Catlin and Lori Grey of Georgia 4-6, 6-1, and 7-5.

Sara Walker of UCLA beat Allison Bradshaw of Arizona State 6-1, 6-1, to win the Pac-10 women's singles title at 'The Ojai.' Lindsay Blau and Michelle Gough of Arizona defeated Tiffany Brymer and Kara Warkentin of USC 6-4, 3-6, and 7-5 to capture the doubles title.

Irvin repeated as the Pac-10 Tennis Player of the Year, becoming the seventh player to do so. Lindsay Blau and Michelle Gough of Arizona were named Doubles Team of the Year. Sara Walker of UCLA was named Freshman of the Year.

Stanford head coach Frank Brennan captured his third straight Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor (and eighth overall) in leading the Cardinal women to their 13th straight Conference title. Stanford was ranked No. 1 throughout the entire season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder