2000 Rowing Year-In-Review

May 30, 2000

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Led by Pac-10 Women's Rowing Coach of the Year Jan Harville, the WASHINGTON women's rowing team captured the silver medal at the NCAA Women's Rowing Championships. Her 2000 varsity eight was ranked No. 1 all season and suffered its only loss, to Brown, in the grand final at the NCAA Championships.

Harville also led the Huskies to their ninth consecutive Pac-10 title. She completed her 13th year at Washington, earning her seventh Coach of the Year honor.

Steve Gladstone of CALIFORNIA directed his men's crew to their second consecutive Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) national title this spring, defeating previously unbeaten Brown in the finals. California was ranked No. 1 in the US Rowing Coaches Poll throughout the season. The Bears also won the Pac-10 Championships for the third straight year.

The Coach of the Year honor is the third consecutive for Gladstone and fourth overall. Gladstone, who completed his fourth season in his second stint as head coach at California, also won the award in 1979.

In addition the California women placed fourth at the NCAA Championships, while the Washington men placed fourth at the IRA's.


Mike Lennig, California
Luke Walton, California
Graham Taylor, California
Jeremia Dees, California
Mike Chait, Washington
Whit Hammond, Washington
Eric Funk, Washington
Joey Hansen, Oregon State
Scott Fortner, Oregon State
Nate Matter, Stanford
Colin Thalhofer, Gonzaga
Lucas Olona, Washington State
Joe Neron, Oregon

Coach of the Year: Steve Gladstone, California

Sabina Telenska, Washington
Vanessa Tavalero, Washington
Rika Geysar, Washingotn
Anna Mickelson, Washington
Megan Dirkmott, California
Whitney Weber, California
Caroline Ingham, California
Amanda Westfall, Oregon State
Annie Godwin, Oregon State
Annelisa Gross, USC
Lisa Phillips, Washington State
Megan Burritt, Stanford
Jill Vimont, Gonzaga
Sophie Minter, UCLA

Newcomer of the Year: Heidi Hurn, Washington
Coach of the Year: Jan Harville, Washington

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder