Two Former Bruins Win MLS Championship With Kansas City Wizards

Oct. 15, 2000

Former UCLA All-Americans Chris Henderson (1989-1990) and Tahj Jakins (1993-1996) took home championship hardware, as their Kansas City Wizards won their first MLS Championship.

Miklos Molnar scored the only goal of the game in the 11th minute, and goalkeeper Tony Meola made the score stand with 10 saves, as the Wizards downed the Chicago Fire, 1-0.

Henderson played all 90 minutes of the contest, while Jakins did not see action. Both players were part of Colorado's runner-up team in 1997, along with UCLA assistant coach Steve Rammel.

Former Bruins Carlos Bocanegra (1997-1999) and Ante Razov (1992-1995) started and played all 90 minutes for the Fire. Also on the Fire roster were Chris Snitko (1992-1995) and Sam George (1988-1991). Razov was playing in third MLS Cup, having previously seen action in the 1996 MLS Cup with the Los Angeles Galaxy and in the 1998 MLS Cup with the champion Chicago Fire.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder