2000 Pac-10 Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships Preview

Oct. 23, 2000

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

MEN'S RACE (32nd annual). . . The men boast three teams ranked in the MONDO Top-25 (Oct. 16) with No. 3 STANFORD, No. 10 ARIZONA and No. 13 OREGON. Stanford should be the early favorite and is looking to knock off defending Pac-10 champion Arizona. The veteran Cardinal squad is led by seniors Thomas Murley and Jonathon Riley. Stanford should receive a big boost should Olympians Gabe Jennings and Michael Stember compete for the Cardinal. The defending champion Wildcats will be led by junior Mike Cramer and senior David Lopez. Oregon moved up in the rankings after a strong showing at the pre-NCAA invite and will be led by sophomore Jason Hartmann and senior Michael Kasahun. The WASHINGTON Huskies, host for the Pac-10 championships, will look for junior Jason Fayant and sophomore John Russell to step forward on their own turf. The UCLA Bruins will be paced by junior Bryan Green and senior Mason Moore. Others to watch include ARIZONA STATE senior Garrett Jensen and freshmen Juan Reyes, CALIFORNIA freshman Girmay Guangul and sophomore Martin Conrad, and WASHINGTON STATE junior Oscar Franco-Parra and sophomore Jon Welsh.

WOMEN'S RACE (15th annual). . . This year's championships should be a hotly contested meet as four Pac-10 teams are ranked top ten in the latest FinishLynx Top-25 (Oct. 16) led by No. 2 STANFORD, followed by No. 4 ARIZONA STATE, No. 6 WASHINGTON, No. 8 ARIZONA. Stanford has its sights set on capturing its fifth consecutive title and seventh title in the last eight years. Cardinal sophomore Erin Sullivan looks to repeat as Pac-10 individual champion and will be joined by senior teammate Julia Stamps and sophomore Lauren Fleshman. Right on the heels of the Cardinal will be Arizona State. The Sun Devils had their best ever championship showing last year with a second place finish. Leading the way for the Sun Devils will be junior Lisa Aguilera and senior Mary Duerbeck. Sixth-ranked Washington will look for the home course advantage and will count on sophomores Gillian Palmer and Kate Bradshaw. Junior Tara Chaplin and senior Katrin Engelen will lead Arizona in the hunt for its first Pac-10 title. UCLA Senior Christina Bowen has been the top finisher in two meets this season and will team with senior Katie Nuanes to keep the Bruins in contention. Others to keep an eye on include CALIFORNIA junior Marielle Schlueter and senior Erin Belger, OREGON seniors Hanna Smedstad and Katie Crabb, USC sophomore Brooke Thomas and freshman Erin Ferguson, WASHINGTON STATE junior Ryan Gilmore and senior Alishia Booterbaugh.

THE COURSE. . . The women's course will cover 6,000 meters at Lincoln Park, Seattle, Wash. The men, meanwhile, will run a course of 8,000 meters. The course starts and finishes on a grass playing field. The running surfaces are a mixture of grass, dirt, light gravel, a little pavement and bark chips.

Pacific-10 Cross Country Championships

When: Saturday, October 28, 2000

Where: Lincoln Park, Seattle, Wash.

Race Times: Women - 11:00 a.m., Men - 12:15 p.m.

LAST YEAR. . . In the men's race, ARIZONA placed six of its runners in the top 14 finishers, ending Stanford's quest for a fourth consecutive Pac-10 title with a convincing 27-point margin of victory at El Dorado Regional Park in Long Beach, Calif. The Wildcats were led by Micheil Jones (2nd), David Lopez (5th) and Steve Smith (8th). OREGON's Steve Fein claimed individual honors finishing first by 11 seconds with a time of 23:37.00.

However, the Stanford women did come away with their fourth consecutive Pac-10 crown, and sixth in seven years. Individually, the Cardinal took the top three spots paced by Erin Sullivan (17:01.50), Sally Glynn and Lauren Fleshman. Sullivan became the first Stanford runner to claim the individual title and just the league's second freshman.


MEN - Team Results 1. Arizona 36 2. Stanford 63 3. Oregon 76 4. Arizona State 84 5. California 119 Washington 119 7. UCLA 193 8. Washington State 199

WOMEN - Team Results 1. Stanford 32 2. Arizona State 62 3. Washington 70 4. UCLA 98 5. Arizona 119 6. Oregon 135 7. Washington State 205 8. USC 228 California 228

MEN - Top-5 Individuals WOMEN Top-5 Individuals 1. Steve Fein, ORE 23:37.00 1. Erin Sullivan, STAN 17:01.50 2. Micheil Jones, ARIZ 23:48.90 2. Sally Glynn, STAN 17:13.60 3. Jake Maas, STAN 23:58.70 3. Lauren Fleshman, STAN 17:13.70 4. Fasil Bizuneh, ASU 24:00.30 4. Lisa Aguilera, ASU 17:20.40 5. David Lopez, ARIZ 24:02.20 5. Anna Aoki, WASH 17:24.40

REPEAT PERFORMANCE. . . STANFORD's Erin Sullivan looks to become the third individual to repeat as Pac-10 women's champion, joining UCLA's Karen Hecox (1993, `94) and ARIZONA's Amy Skieresz (1996, `97, `98, `99).

WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE?. . . Fresno, Calif., will be the site of the NCAA West Regional Championships Saturday, Nov. 11, while the NCAA Championships will be Monday, Nov. 20 in Ames, Iowa.

NEXT YEAR. . . Arizona State University will host the 2001 Pac-10 Cross Country Championships.

2000 PAC-10 CROSS COUNTRY CHAMPIONSHIPS RESULTS . . . Following the championships, final results for the men's and women's races will be available on the University of Washington web site (www.gohuskies.com) and the Pac-10 web site (www.pac-10.org). Final results will also be available on Pivotal Communications MediaTeamLink website (www.mediateamlink.com).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder