Tuiasosopo Named Finalist for Unitas Award

Oct. 26, 2000

Louisville, KY - Washington senior quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo has been named one of five finalists for the 2000 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. In addition to Tuiasosopo, the other finalists are Josh Heupel of No. 3 Oklahoma, Chris Weinke of No. 6 Florida State, Drew Brees of No. 16 Purdue and Bart Hendricks of Boise State.

The award is presented each year to the nation's top senior collegiate quarterback by the Frank Camp Chapter of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation.

Tuiasosopo has completed 115 of 224 passes for 1,433 yards and eight touchdowns and has run for four scores.

Heupel has completed 69 percent of his passes for nearly 1,900 yards and 11 touchdowns to lead the resurgent Sooners to the No. 2 spot in the initial Bowl Championship Series standings.

Weinke leads the nation with 2,784 passing yards and is ranked second among Division I quarterbacks in passing efficiency.

Brees is ranked third nationally in passing yardage with 2,443 yards and 19 touchdowns.Hendricks ranks sixth in the nation in total offense at 293.57 yards per game and is second among Division I-A quarterbacks with 20 TDs.

The winner will be announced Nov. 21. NFL Hall of Fame quarterback Johnny Unitas will make the official award presentation Dec. 8 in Louisville.

Louisville quarterback Chris Redman won the award last year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder