Oregon Men Place Second, Women Seventh At Pac-10 Cross Country Championships

Oct. 28, 2000

Men's Results in PDF Format
Women's Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

SEATTLE - Stanford swept the team titles at the 2000 Pac-10 Championship Cross Country meet Saturday at Lincoln Park.

The No. 3 Stanford men won with 21 points, topping No. 13 Oregon, their next closest competitor by 45 points, and regaining the conference title it owned from 1996-1998. The Ducks took the runner-up spot with 66 points, followed by No. 10 Arizona which tallied 70.

Washington sophomore John Russell and junior Jason Fayant led the men for the first two miles, but were overtaken by a strong Stanford squad among others. Stanford senior Jonathon Riley won the men's 8,000-meter race in a new course record time of 23:39.59.

The No. 3 Stanford men boasted five of the top seven finishers, allowing only runner-up sophomore Jason Hartmann of Oregon and Arizona junior Tom Prindiville, who placed fifth, to infiltrate their ranks,

On the women's side, the No. 2 Cardinal had five women in the top 25, tallying a final score of 51 en route to claiming its fifth straight Pac-10 cross country title. No. 4 Arizona State followed with 67, along with No. 8 Arizona, 79, and No. 6 Washington, 83.

Stanford sophomore, and 1999 Pac-10 champion, Erin Sullivan led the women's race for the first 2,000 meters, before pulling out of the race. Arizona junior Tara Chaplin was the individual winner for the women, finishing the 6,000-meter course in a new course record time of 20:10.67, beating Arizona State junior Lisa Aguilera by just over nine seconds..

Stanford coach Vin Lananna said the victories put the Cardinal teams back on top off a tough conference.

'It is kind of a different feeling for both,' Lananna said. I think the women really came back and did a great job. We have had some things going on over the course of the year with not everybody in our line up, and with me being in Sydney for half the season. They have really done a great job under the leadership of Dena Evans. She has really been doing a great job coaching our kids. On the men's side, it was a disappointing loss for us last year when Arizona caught us by surprise. We have a really good team. It is a great conference and it is very exciting for us to be on top.'

Course Records:
Before the Pac-10 meet, the women's course record was held by Washington sophomore Gillian Palmer, who finished the 6,000 meter course in 20:49.14 at the 2000 Sundodger Invitational. The men's course record of 23:52.04 was set by Michigan's Mark Pilja at the 2000 Sundodger Invitational, the first race run on the newly designed course.

Previous Champions:
Last year, Stanford freshman Erin Sullivan took home the women's individual title, while helping her team to its four consecutive team title. Oregon senior Steve Fein took home the men's individual title, while the Arizona men claimed the team title.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder