Eason Named Semifinalist for Jim Thorpe Award

Nov. 9, 2000

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Senior cornerback Nijrell Eason has been named one of 12 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, awarded annually since 1986 to the top defensive back in the nation. The Jim Thorpe Association will narrow the list down to three finalists on November 21. The three finalists will be invited to the ESPN College Football Awards show on December 7 where the winner of the Jim Thorpe Award will be announced. Formal presentation of the award will be at the Jim Thorpe award ceremonies in Oklahoma City, Okla., Feb. 19.

Thorpe winners are considered for their performance on the field, their athletic ability and character. Voted the 20th century's greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe was a two-time All-America running back and defensive back. He won gold medals in the decathlon and the pentathlon at the 1912 Olympics, played professional football and baseball and was the first president of what became the National Football League.

This marks the second time this season that a Sun Devil has been named a semifinalist for the some of the most prestigious awards in college football with senior linebacker Adam Archuleta being named one of the 11 semifinalists for the Dick Butkus Award.

The 12 semifinalists (in alphabetical order) for the 2000 Jim Thorpe Award are:

Will Allen, Syracuse

Leo Barnes, Southern Miss

James Boyd, Penn State

Gary Baxter, Baylor

Robert Carswell, Clemson

Nate Clements, Ohio State

Nijrell Eason, Arizona State

Jamar Fletcher, Wisconsin

Andre Lott, Tennessee

Dwight Smith, Akron

Fred Smoot, Mississippi State

J.T. Thatcher, Oklahoma

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder