Harrington Chosen Semifinalist as One of Nation's Top Quarterbacks

Nov. 9, 2000

FORT WORTH, Texas - University of Oregon junior Joey Harrington was one of eight quarterbacks in the country selected as semifinalists for the 2000 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award as announced Thursday by the National College Football Awards Association.

The honor, given to the top collegiate quarterback in the country, will be chosen by a committee of national sportswriters and commentators and awarded Dec. 7 in Orlando, Fla., with the semifinalists selected from a group of 26 candidates.

Joining Harrington among the other semifinalists are Purdue senior Drew Brees, Nebraska junior Eric Crouch, Clemson junior Woodrow Dantzler, Oklahoma senior Josh Heupel, Washington senior Marques Tuiasosopo, Virginia Tech sophomore Michael Vick, and Florida State senior Chris Weinke.

The Ducks' second-year signal-caller leads the Pacific-10 Conference and is ranked 20th in the country in total offense, averaging 245.1 points a game, while leading the league with 19 touchdown passes and is second in passing yards with 2,109.

Accumulating a career record of 12-1 as a starter, the former Portland standout has led Oregon to an 8-1 record this season and atop the Pac-10 Conference standings (6-0) heading into Saturday's home finale vs. California.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder