Tuiasosopo Named Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award

Nov. 9, 2000

Seattle - Washington senior quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo has been named as one of eight semifinalists for the 2000 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. The semifinalists were announced today by the National College Football Awards Association in the organization's first joint effort among college football award program.

In addition to Tuiasosopo, the other semifinalists are: Drew Brees, Purdue, Sr., Eric Crouch, Nebraska, Jr., Woodrow Dantzler, Clemson, Jr., Joey Harrington, Oregon, Jr., Josh Heupel, Oklahoma, Sr., Michael Vick, Virginia Tech, Soph., and Chris Weinke, Florida State, Sr.

The quarterbacks were chosen by the O'Brien Advisory Committee, composed of national sportswriters and commentators, narrowed the field of candidates from 26 and will vote again to select the nation's top college quarterback.

The winner of the 2000 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on Dec. 7.

Tuiasosopo is also one of five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award presented to the nation's top senior quarterback.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder