Todd Heap Among First Top-Eight For John Mackey Award

Nov. 10, 2000

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Junior tight end Todd Heap was among the names called when the Nassau County Sports Commission announced the first top-eight players for the inaugural John Mackey Award Friday, which will honor the best tight end in Division I NCAA football.

In addition to Heap, the NCSC named Alge Crumpler of North Carolina, Brian Natkin of Texas-El Paso, Derek Smith of Kentucky, Jerramy Stevens of Washington, Tony Stewart of Penn State, Tim Stratton of Purdue and Tracey Winstrom of Nebraska.

The John Mackey Award Selection Committee is made up of former National League Football players such as Keith Jackson and Kellen Winslow, as well as media members such as Lee Corso and Sean McDonough.

For further questions about John Mackey, the John Mackey Award or the NCSC, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder