Punter Nick Murphy Named One of 10 Finalists for the Ray Guy Award

Nov. 13, 2000

AUGUSTA, Ga. TEMPE, Ariz. - Junior punter Nick Murphy has been named one of 10 finalists for the inaugural Ray Guy Award which recognizes the nation's top punter.

Forty players were on the preseason watch list for the award, and the 10 finalists were chosen based on their overall statistics and contribution to the team with emphasis placed on net average, number inside the 20-yard line, percentage of total punts inside the 20, average return yardage and percent not returned.

Murphy is fourth in the Pac-10 Conference with an average of 40.6 yards per punt this season (72 punts for 2,920 yards). He has had 24 punts downed inside the 20-yard line, including 13 inside the 10. Earlier this season, he set Arizona State's school records for punts and punting average in a single game with 12 for 514 yards (42.8 yards per punt) vs. Washington and was named Pac-10 Special Teams Player of the Week following ASU's season-opening win over San Diego State with five of his punts in that game downed inside the 5-yard line.

Presented by the Greater Augusta (Georgia) Sports Council, the Ray Guy Award will be presented to Dec. 7, 2000 as part of the Home Depot College Football Award Show live on ESPN from Orlando, Fla. The winner will display leadership, self-discipline, and have a significant positive impact on the team's success.

The selection committee will announce the three finalists Nov. 30. The Sports Awards Gala evening will follow on Dec. 12 in Augusta. The award is named after Ray Guy who attended the University of Southern Mississippi and was drafted in the first round by the Oakland Raiders. Ray Guy was an integral part of the Raider's successful years between 1973-1986.

2000 Ray Guy Award Finalists

Keith Cottrell, Senior, Florida State

Kurtis Doerr, Senior, Oregon

Hayden Epstein, Junior, Michigan

Jeff Ferguson, Junior, Oklahoma

Preston Gruening, Sophomore, Minnesota

Nick Harris, Senior, California

Joey Hildbold, Sophomore, Notre Dame

David Leaverton, Senior, Tennessee

Nick Murphy, Junior, Arizona State

Kevin Stemke, Senior, Wisconsin

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network