Alex Yi Named Pac-10 Men's Soccer Freshman of the Year

Nov. 14, 2000

Walnut Creek, CA - UCLA midfielder/defender Alex Yi (Easton, MD/Bradenton Academy) was named the first-ever Pac-10 men's soccer freshman of the year, while eight other Bruins were named to the all-conference teams.

Yi, who also earned second-team All-Pac-10 honors, has helped lead UCLA to a 12-6 overall record and to its 18th straight NCAA Tournament appearance. Yi is one of three Bruins to start all 17 games this season and has played a major role for a UCLA defense that posts a 1.02 goals against average, second-best in the Pac-10, and has recorded six shutouts. A current member of the U.S. Under-20 National team, Yi was named one of five 'Players to Watch' by the Missouri Athletic Club earlier this season.

Three Bruin seniors earned first-team all-conference nods - defender Ryan Lee (Alta Loma, CA/Alta Loma HS), midfielder Shaun Tsakiris (Saratoga, CA/Bellarmine Prep) and forward McKinley Tennyson Jr. (Indianapolis, IN/North Central HS). Last season, all three players earned All-MPSF honors, with Tsakiris on the first team and Lee and Tennyson on the second team.

Yi and freshman goalkeeper DJ Countess (Fair Oaks, CA/Bella Vista HS) were selected to the all-conference second team. Four other Bruins earned honorable mention acclaim - freshman defender Nelson Akwari (Houston, TX/Strake Jesuit College Prep), freshman midfielder Adolfo Gregorio (Hilmar, CA/Hilmar HS), sophomore defender Scot Thompson (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA/Trabuco Hills HS) and senior midfielder Caleb Westbay (Simi Valley, CA/Royal HS).

Stanford senior midfielder Ryan Nelsen was selected the Pac-10 Player of the Year, while Stanford head coach Bobby Clark was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

2000 Pac-10 First Team All-Conference
Todd Dunivant, Stanford - Soph. Defender
Scott Leber, Stanford - Senior Midfielder
Ryan Lee, UCLA - Senior Defender
Lee Morrison, Stanford - Junior Defender
Ryan Nelsen, Stanford - Senior Midfielder
Bryn Ritchie, Washington - Junior Defender
Chris Roner, California - Junior Midfielder
McKinley Tennyson Jr., UCLA - Senior Forward
Shaun Tsakiris, UCLA - Senior Midfielder

Kendall Simmons, California - Senior Forward
Ben Somoza, Washington - Junior Midfielder
Adam Zapala, Stanford - Senior Goalkeeper

2000 Pac-10 Second Team All-Conference
Ramiro Arredondo, California - Senior Midfielder
Aaron Biddle, Stanford - Junior Defender
Mike Casale, Washington - Senior Midfielder
DJ Countess, UCLA - Freshman Goalkeeper
Josh Elbaum, OSU - Freshman Midfielder
Mike Hickman, California - Freshman Defender
Mark Hogenhout, Washington - Senior Midfielder
Matt Olsen, OSU - Senior Midfielder
Billy Sleeth, Washington - Junior Defender
Corey Woolfolk, Stanford - Senior Forward
Alex Yi, UCLA - Freshman Midfielder

2000 Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-Conference
Nelson Akwari (UCLA, Fr., D), Peter Billmeyer (OSU, Fr., GK), Kai Carroll (WASH, Sr., F), Adolfo Gregorio (UCLA, Fr., Mf), Stephen Hensor (OSU, Fr., Mf), Zach Kingsley (WASH, Jr., Mf), Justin Kirk (OSU, So., Mf), Leo Krupnik (CAL, Jr., D), Roger Levesque (STAN, So., F), Johanes Maliza (STAN, So., F), Chad Olsen (WASH, So., Gk), Luke Rust (STAN, Sr., F), Jake Sagare (WASH, Jr., F), Jesse Servin (OSU, Fr., F), Derek Shanahan (STAN, Jr., Mf), Sean Sylvis (STAN, Sr., Mf), Ryan Smith (OSU, So., Mf), Scot Thompson (UCLA, So., D), Christian van Blommestein (OSU, Fr., D), Caleb Westbay (UCLA, Sr., Mf).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder