Gold Team Defeats Maroon in ASU Wrestling Intrasquad Scrimmage

Nov. 15, 2000

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State wrestling team made its unofficial debut at home Wednesday night, as the Gold team defeated the Maroon team 24-15 in an intrasquad scrimmage at Wells Fargo Arena.

Picking up big wins for the Gold Sun Devils included freshman Mike Simpson, who opened the night at 125 pounds with a technical fall over sophomore Adam Chavira at 4:11, giving his team an early five-point lead. Also contributing crucial victories, junior Dana Holland pinned redshirt freshman Frankie Saenz at 5:40 (149 pounds), while junior Curtis Owen earned a major decision over redshirt freshman Ron Renzi (197), 14-6, in the final match of the night.

Leading the way for the Maroon team, sophomore All-American Eric Larkin pinned freshman Danny Alcocer, Jr. with just 20 seconds remaining in the 141 pound match, while senior All-American Steve Blackford earned a 6-5 decision over sophomore Nick Frost at 165 pounds.

The Sun Devils officially open the 2000-01 season at home Friday, Nov. 24 as they host the Desert Duals at Wells Fargo Arena. ASU is set to face off with Embry-Riddle (Prescott, Ariz.) at 10:30 a.m., followed by Minnesota-Morris at 1 p.m. and Northwestern at 4 p.m., all times MST.

Arizona State Wrestling
Maroon & Gold Scrimmage
Wed., Nov. 15, Wells Fargo Arena

125: Mike Simpson (Gold) tech. fall Adam Chavira (Maroon), 16-1
133: David Douglas (Gold) dec. Dan Hyman (Maroon), 4-2
141: Eric Larkin (Maroon) pinned Danny Alcocer, Jr. (Gold), 6:40
149: Dana Holland (Gold) pinned Frankie Saenz (Maroon), 5:40
165: Steve Blackford (Maroon) dec. Nick Frost (Gold), 6-5
184: R.D. Pursell (Maroon) dec. Mike Marshall (Gold), 6-5
197: Andy Swanson (Gold) dec. Scott Hollingsworth (Maroon), 11-7
HWT: Kellan Fluckiger (Gold) dec. Hector Torres (Maroon), 2-2 (2OT - 30 sec. ride-out)
125: Jeff Charlebois (Maroon) dec. Chris Knox (Gold), 6-2
174: Curtis Owen (Gold) major dec. Ron Renzi (Maroon), 14-6

Coach Gold: Aaron Simpson
Coach Maroon: Tony Quinones
Referee: Charlie Jones

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder