Men's Soccer Earns Pac-10 Honors

Nov. 15, 2000

Seattle - Senior midfielder Kai Carroll was named Pac-10 Player of the Week, and a pair of junior players were named to the 2000 Pac-10 All-Conference Men's Soccer Team, along with five members of the Pac-10 champion Washington team that were recognized.

Stanford senior midfielder Ryan Nelsen was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, UCLA midfielder/defender Alex Yi was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Stanford head coach Bobby Clark was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, the Pac-10 announced.

Carroll was named Pac-10 Player of the Week for his efforts against California Nov. 10. A senior from Eugene, Ore., Carroll recorded a hat trick at California, leading No. 13 Washington to a 4-2 win over the Bears and clinching the Pac-10 Championship in the process. He also helped the Huskies notch their second season sweep over a Pac-10 opponent and finish the season undefeated on the road in conference play. Carroll leads the team in goals this year with a eight, a career-high for him, with six of those goals being game-winners.

Junior defender Bryn Ritchie and junior midfielder Ben Somoza both were honored on the All-Pac-10 First Team for their efforts this season. They scored five goals apiece this season and helped lead Washington to the first-ever Pac-10 title. Senior team captain Mike Casale, a midfielder, earned second team recognition, as did fellow senior midfielder Mark Hogenhout and junior defender Billy Sleeth. Carroll, Zach Kingsley, goalkeeper Chad Olsen and Jake Sagare earned honorable mention recognition.

Washington, with a record of 13-5-0, hosts Alabama-Birmingham in NCAA Tournament first round action at 7 p.m., Fri., Nov. 17.

Name Pos. Yr. School
Todd Dunivant - D, So., STAN
Scott Leber - MF, Sr., STAN
Ryan Lee - D, Sr., UCLA
Lee Morrison - D, Jr., STAN
Ryan Nelsen - MF, Sr., STAN
Bryn Ritchie - D, Jr., WASH
Chris Roner - MF, Jr., CAL
McKinley Tennyson Jr - F, Sr., UCLA
Shaun Tsakiris - MF, Sr., UCLA
Kendall Simmonds - F, Sr., CAL
Ben Somoza - MF, Jr., WASH
Adam Zapala - GK, Sr., STAN
*the first team features four defenders, as voting for the third resulted in a two-way tie

Name Pos. Yr. School
Ramiro Arredondo - MF, Sr., CAL
Aaron Biddle - D, Jr., STAN
Mike Casale - MF, Sr., WASH
DJ Countess - GK, Fr., UCLA
Josh Elbaum - MF, Fr., OSU
Mike Hickman - D, Fr., CAL
Mark Hogenhout - MF, Sr., WASH
Matt Olsen - MF, Sr., OSU
Billy Sleeth - D, Jr., WASH
Corey Woolfolk - F, Sr., STAN
Alex Yi - MF, Fr., UCLA

Nelson Akwari (UCLA, Fr., D), Peter Billmeyer (OSU, Fr., GK), Kai Carroll (WASH, Sr., F), AdolfoGregario (UCLA, Fr., MF), Stephen Hensor (OSU, Fr., MF), Zach Kingsley (WASH, Jr., MF), JustinKirk (OSU, So., MF), Leo Krupnik (CAL, Jr., D), Roger Levesque (STAN, So., F), Johanes Maliza(STAN, So., F), Chad Olsen (WASH, So., GK), Luke Rust (STAN, Sr., F), Jake Sagare (WASH, Jr., F), Jesse Servin (OSU, Fr., F), Derek Shanahan (STAN, Jr., MF), Sean Sylvis (STAN, Sr., MF), Ryan Smith (OSU, So., MF), Scot Thompson (UCLA, So., D), Christian van Blommestein (OSU, Fr., D), Caleb Westbay (UCLA, Sr., MF).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder