Jorgensen, Richards, Weber Win Titles for OSU

Nov. 18, 2000

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Oregon State's Eric Jorgensen was named the Outstanding Wrestler as he won the 157-pound championship at the Omaha Open on Saturday, and Beaver 133-pounder Ben Richards and 184-pounder Isaac Weber also won titles at the season-opening tournament. All 10 OSU wrestlers placed in the event, in which no team scores were kept, the field included No. 1-ranked Iowa and No. 3-ranked Minnesota. OSU is ranked No. 19 in the preseason InterMat rankings.

Second-place finishers for the Beavers were 125-pounder Nathan Navarro and heavyweight Jason Cooley, a third-place finisher was 141-pounder Shane Cunanan, fourth-place finishers were 174-pounder Nathan Coy and 197-pounder Jason Lovell, and placing fifth were 165-pounder Jed Pennell and heavyweight Andy Bowlby.

'The kids performed very well,' OSU head coach Joe Wells said. 'We won a lot of matches in the third period or in overtime, and that's a good indicator that we were doing some of the right things.'

Jorgensen recorded two technical falls and two major decisions on the way to his Outstanding Wrestler award. Richards had a major decision among his four wins and Weber had a technical fall among his four victories.

OSU opens its home schedule on Saturday, when the Beavers meet Stanford in a Pacific-10 dual meet at 1 p.m.

OMAHA OPEN (Oregon State results from placing matches)

125 (1st/2nd) - Mack LaRock, Nebraska-Omaha, dec. Nathan Navarro, OSU, 5-4. 133 (1st/2nd) - Ben Richards, OSU, dec. C. Boudreaux, Northern Iowa, 11-4. 141 (3rd/4th) - Shane Cunanan, OSU, dec. Joe Schneider, Central Oklahoma, 3-1. 157 (1st/2nd) - Eric Jorgensen, OSU, major dec. Drew Kelley, Northern Iowa, 15-2. 165 (5th/6th) - Jed Pennell, OSU, dec. Todd Kirkpatrick, Augustana, 2-0. 174 (3rd/4th) - Matt Kraft, Minnesota, dec. Nathan Coy, OSU, 11-9. 184 (1st/2nd) - Isaac Weber, OSU, dec. Kyle Hanson, Northern Iowa, 3-1. 197 (3rd/4th) - Andy Sistek, Nebraska-Kearney, dec. Jason Lovell, OSU, 6-4. HWT (1st/2nd) - Paul Hynek, Northern Iowa, pinned Jason Cooley, OSU, 3:13. HWT (5th/6th) - Andy Bowlby, OSU, dec. Brad Steele, Wyoming, 10-6.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder