Volleyball Wins First-Ever Pac-10 Championship!

Nov. 18, 2000

Los Angeles, Calif. - Before Saturday (Nov. 18) night, UCLA and Stanford were the only two schools to ever win at least a share of the Pac-10 title. USC, though winning three conference titles (1976, 1977, 1980) in its 24-year program history, had never won the Pac-10 Championship since the conference's inception in 1986. The 2000 Women of Troy made history by winning its first-ever share of the Pac-10 Championship after defeating Washington 3-0 on Saturday night.

With a 16-2 school-best conference record, Arizona also earned a share of the 2000 title - their first conference title ever. The Wildcats and Trojans split the season series 1-1.

USC currently owns a 24-2 overall record (16-2 Pac-10), marking its best season performance since 1980 when the Trojans finished 46-4 and won the AIAW national championship.

Under the leadership of second-year interim head coach Jerritt Elliott, USC was picked to finish third by the Pac-10 preseason coaches poll. The Trojans swept seven of nine conference opponents and split series' with Arizona and UCLA. USC began the 2000 season with a 38-game win streak and has only played two five-game matches thus far.

The Women of Troy now await the 2000 NCAA tournament selections, which will be announced on Sunday, Nov. 26.

Washington-USC box score and game story to follow shortly.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network