Curtis Williams Wins Flaherty Award at Husky Football Banquet;

Nov. 20, 2000

Seattle, WA - University of Washington senior Curtis Williams, who suffered a spinal cord injury Oct. 28 in a game at Stanford, was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award at Washington football team's annual awards banquet held Monday night. Williams is currently in a rehabilitation center in San Jose, Calif. Despite missing the final three games of the year due to the injury, he still finished third on the team with 55 tackles. The Flaherty Award is Washington's oldest (since 1908), and most prestigious, individual award.

The Husky players selected senior quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo the team Offensive MVP for the second straight season. Senior linebacker Derrell Daniels and Williams were voted as co-Defensive MVP. Tuiasosopo was also honored as the KOMO Radio Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year along with tight end Jerramy Stevens. Daniels and free safety Hakim Akbar were named the KOMO Radio Outstanding Defensive Players of the Year, both for the second straight season. Roc Alexander, Owen Biddle, Derrick Johnson and Tyler Krambrink were selected the Special Teams Players of the Year by KOMO Radio.

Senior tackle Chad Ward received the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award. Senior Elliot Silvers was named the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive Lineman while junior nose tackle Larry Tripplett was recognized as the John P. Angel Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Senior fullback Pat Conniff earned the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award while senior linebacker Jeremiah Pharms was the recipient of the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to offensive linemen Wes Call and Matt Rogers on offense and cornerback Omare Lowe and linebacker Ben Mahdavi on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards were presented tailback Rich Alexis and Justin Robbins on the offensive side while Greg Carothers, Chris Massey and Krambrink took home defensive honors.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Players of the Year went to freshman Sean Sweat and junior Matthias Wilson, both running backs. Freshmen linebackers Zach Tuiasosopo and Tim Galloway were announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Players of the Year Award was presented to senior fullback Brian Cook and sophomore cornerback B.J. Newberry.

The Inspirational Academic Award was presented to junior linebacker Anthony Kelley. Junior punter Ryan Fleming, a regional Academic All-American, was honored as the 101 Club Academic Award winner for having the highest grade point average for the second straight season. Junior linebacker Oye Waddell won the Tyee Sports Council's Community Service Award for the second consecutive season and was also honored with the Academic Excellence Award.

Coaches' Awards for outstanding contributions to the team were made to center Kyle Benn, receiver Todd Elstrom, tailback Willie Hurst, linebacker Jafar Williams and defensive linemen Ossim Hatem and Ryan Julian.

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Bobby Thomas, a student assistant on the Husky equipment staff and Chase Mitsuda, a student trainer.

2000 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Curtis Williams

Players' MVP Award
Marques Tuiasosopo (Offense)
Derrell Daniels & Curtis Williams (Defense)

KOMO Radio Players of the Year
Marques Tuiasosopo & Jerramy Stevens (Offense)
Hakim Akbar & Derrell Daniels (Defense)
Roc Alexander, Owen Biddle, Derrick Johnson & Tyler Krambrink (Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Wes Call & Matt Rogers (Offense)
Omare Lowe & Ben Mahdavi (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Elliot Silvers (Offense)
Larry Tripplett (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Chad Ward

101 Club Academic Award
Ryan Fleming

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Pat Conniff

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Jeremiah Pharms

Tyee Sports Countil Service Award
Oye Waddell

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Sean Sweat & Matthias Wilson

Brian Stapp Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Tim Galloway & Zach Tuiasosopo

Mark Drennan Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Brian Cook & B.J. Newberry

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Rich Alexis & Justin Robbins (Offense)
Greg Carothers, Tyler Krambrink & Chris Massey (Defense)

Kurt Gegner Memorial
Bobby Thomas (equipment staff) & Chase Mitsuda (training staff)

Inspirational Academic Award
Anthony Kelley

Academic Excellence Award
Oye Waddell

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Oye Waddell

Coaches' Award
Kyle Benn, Todd Elstrom, Willie Hurst, Ossim Hatem, Ryan Julian and Jafar Williams

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder