Volleyball's Tom and Detmer Tabbed First Team All-Conference

Nov. 21, 2000

ARIZONA junior setter Dana Burkholder has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Volleyball Player of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Tuesday.

Burkholder, a two-time All-Pac-10 selection, becomes the first Arizona player to garner Pac-10 Player of the Year honors. Burkholder was a major force in leading Arizona to its first-ever Pac-10 title as the Wildcats shared the championship with USC.

Burkholder, a native of Bakersfield, Calif., is third in the Conference in assists, averaging 14.08 assists per game, and 10th in digs with 3.05 digs per game. She guided Arizona's offense to its most productive hitting season in school history. The Wildcats posted a .321 attack percentage, a mark that ranks second all-time in Pac-10 history.

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR -- APRIL ROSS, USCA 6-1 outside hitter from Newort Beach, Calif., Ross was instrumental in USC's run for the Pac-10 title. She led the Women of Troy, and ranked 10th in the Pac-10, with 3.54 kills per game. Her 0.37 service aces per game ranked fifth in the Conference, while her 2.91 digs per game ranked 10th. Ross earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors and was named the AVCA National Player of the Week on Nov. 13 after hitting .417 with 37 kills (4.63 kpg) in wins over No. 3 Arizona and Arizona State respectively.

CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR -- DAVID RUBIO, ARIZONA/JERRITT ELLIOTT, USCArizona coach David Rubio and USC interim coach Jerritt Elliott have been tabbed the Pac-10 Co-Coaches of the Year after both guided their respective clubs to a shared Pac-10 title and top-five ranking. The shared championship marks the first time a team other than UCLA or Stanford has won the Pac-10 title. Rubio led Arizona to a 24-3 record overall, 16-2 in Pac-10 play, while Elliott guided USC to a 24-2 mark overall and a matching 16-2 Pac-10 record. Rubio is in his ninth season at Arizona, posting a career record of 288-155 (.650), and has led the Wildcats to postseason play seven times. Elliott, serving as the Trojans interim head coach for the second year until Mick Haley takes over the reigns in 2001, earns Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive season. Elliott brought in the nation's No. 1 ranked recruiting class and proceeded to guide the young squad to the Pac-10 title. With one more victory, USC will post its first 25-win season since 1985. Elliott's career record stands at 45-11 (.804).

2000 ALL-PAC-10 WOMEN'S VOLLEYBALL TEAMPLAYER,TEAM 			POS. 	HT. 	YR. 	HOMETOWNElisabeth Bachman, UCLA*** 	MB 	6-3 	Sr. 	Lakeville, Minn.Amanda Burbridge, ASU** 	OH 	6-2 	Sr. 	Scottsdale, Ariz.Dana Burkholder, ARIZ** 	S	5-8 	Jr. 	Bakersfield, Calif.Marisa DaLee, ARIZ*** 		MB	6-3 	Sr. 	Phoenix, Ariz.Jennifer Detmer, STAN*** 	MB 	6-3 	Sr. 	Thousand Oaks, Calif.LaToya Harris, WSU 		OH 	5-9 	So. 	Portland, Ore.Allison Napier, ARIZ 		OH 	6-2 	Sr. 	Santa Ana, Calif.Jennifer Pahl, USC** 		MB 	6-1 	Jr. 	Murrieta, Calif.Kristee Porter, UCLA*** 	OH 	5-11 	Jr. 	Tyler, TexasApril Ross, USC 		OH 	6-1 	Fr. 	Newport Beach, Calif.Gina Schmidt, OSU 		OH 	5-11 	Jr. 	Beaverlodge, Alberta, Can.Logan Tom, STAN** 		OH 	6-1 	So. 	Salt Lake City, Utah** two-time selection*** three-time selectionHonorable Mention: Toni Anderson, USC, Ashley Bowles, UCLA, Lauren Fendrick, UCLA, Janae Henry, USC,	Michelle Mortensen, ASU, Katie Olsovsky, USC, Alicia Perry, CAL, Antoinette Polk, USC, Lisa Rutledge,	ARIZ, Chelsie Schafer, WSU, ErikaSelsor, UCLA, Kali Surplus, WSU, Jill Talbot, ARIZ, Monique Tobbagi, ORE, Lisa Underhill, WASH.

2000 PAC-10 ALL-FRESHMAN TEAMPLAYER, TEAM POS. HT. HOMETOWNToni Anderson, USC S 5-10 Anaheim, Calif.Cheryl Anglin, ASU S 5-9 Queen Creek, Ariz.Zanda Bautre, WSU MH 5-11 Riga, LatviaSara McGee, STAN MB 6-3 Davis, Calif.April Ross, USC OH 6-1 Newport Beach, Calif.Katie Olsovsky, USC MB 6-3 Torrance, Calif.Honorable Mention: Gabrielle Abernathy, CAL, Ella Harley, UCLA, Kimberly Mehlhorn, ASU.

PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Dana Burkholder, ArizonaPAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: April Ross, USCPAC-10 CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR: David Rubio, Arizona/Jerritt Elliott, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder