Men's Hoops Selected To Compete In 2001 Great Alaska Shootout

Nov. 22, 2000

CORVALLIS, Ore. - - The Oregon State men's basketball team has been selected to compete in the 2001 Carrs/Safeway Great Alaska Shootout, scheduled for Nov. 21-24 at Sullivan Arena in Anchorage, Alaska.

The other members of the eight-team field are host Alaska-Anchorage, Gonzaga, Indiana, Marquette, St. John's, Tennessee, and Texas.

St. John's, Oregon State and Indiana all rank in the top-10 in wins among NCAA Division I programs. St. John's total of 1,607 wins places it fifth, while Oregon State is ninth with 1,482, and Indiana ranks 10th with 1,473.

Recent Shootout champions include Kansas, Cincinnati, North Carolina, Kentucky, Duke, Minnesota, and Purdue.

The 2001 tournament will mark the second time OSU has competed in the event, as the Beavers placed third in the 1991 tournament. OSU downed Alaska-Anchorage 80-66, lost to Massachusetts 74-65, and defeated Eastern Michigan in the third-place game 87-72.

Oregon State's (2-0 overall, 0-0 Pacific-10) next action is Nov. 24 as the Beavers take on Appalachian State in the City Bank/Aloha Airlines Big Island Invitational in Hilo, Haw., which runs from Nov. 24-26.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder