Bruin Women's Volleyball to Host NCAA First/Second Round Matches

Nov. 26, 2000

LOS ANGELES - The 11th-ranked Bruins have been selected by the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee to host a first and second round site for the 2000 NCAA Championship. Matches will be played at Pauley Pavilion on the UCLA campus on Saturday, Dec. 3 and Sunday, Dec. 4. Saturday's session will begin at 5 p.m., while Sunday's session is scheduled for a 3 p.m. start. All times are Pacific Standard Time.

UCLA holds a 22-7 record on the 2000 season, and will open tournament play vs. Morgan State (26-15) on Saturday with a scheduled start time of 7 pm. In the first game of Saturday's opening round session, Michigan State (17-12) and Wisconsin-Milwaukee (23-4) will face off at 5 p.m.

UCLA has won three NCAA Championships, in 1984, 1990 and 1991, all under the direction of current Bruin mentor Andy Banachowski. The Bruin women's volleyball team has never faced Wisconsin-Milwaukee or Morgan State, and is 2-0 all-time against Michigan State, including a 3-1 UCLA win over the Spartans on Sept. 8 at the adidas Invitational in South Bend, IN.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder