Stanford Volleyball Receives 20th Consecutive NCAA Postseason Bid

Nov. 26, 2000

The Stanford women's volleyball team received its 20th consecutive NCAA postseason invitation to the Division I Women's Volleyball Championship tonight. The Cardinal will participate in the West Region facing Loyola Marymount (20-8) in a first round matchup on Thursday, November 30 at 5:30 p.m. on the campus of UC-Santa Barbara. UCSB (23-7) takes on Texas San-Antonio (24-8) in the other first round match held at the Thunderdome. The winners of the first round matches will play on Friday, December 1 at 7:30 p.m.

Four teams, Stanford, Penn State, Pacific and UC Santa Barbara, have earned bids to all twenty championships. In the 19-year history of the championship, nine schools have been crowned champion, eight of which are in this year's bracket, including four-time national champion Stanford.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed at the top seeds in each region were Nebraska in the central, Southern California in the pacific, Wisconsin in the mideast and Hawaii in the west region.

The Pacific-10, Big Twelve and Big Ten conferences each placed six teams in the field, followed by the Big West Conference with five and Conference USA with four representatives.

Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 7-10 at four campus locations yet to be determined. The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and finals hosted by Virginia Commonwealth in Richmond, Virginia on December 14 and 16.

For complete NCAA Women's Volleyball coverage, go to

West Region - First RoundNovember 30-December 1 at Santa Barbara, Calif.Loyola Marymount (20-8) vs. Stanford (18-11)Texas-San Antonio (24-8) vs. UC Santa Barbara (23-7)
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder