Volleyball Earns Bid To NCAAs As One Of Four Top Seeds

Nov. 26, 2000

Indianapolis, Ind. - The Division I Women's Volleyball Committee announced today the 64-team field for the 2000 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualifications, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top seeds in each region were Nebraska (28-0) in the central, USC (25-2) in the pacific, Wisconsin (28-3) in the mideast and Hawai'i (27-1) in the west region.

The Big Ten, Big Twelve and Pac-10 (USC, Arizona, UCLA, Arizona State, Washington State and Stanford) conferences each placed six teams in the field, followed by the Big West Conference with five, and Conference USA with four representatives.

Four teams - Pacific, Penn State, Stanford and UC Santa Barbara - have earned bids to all twenty championships. Five teams will be making their initial appearance in the field - Alabama A&M, Georgia State, Texas-San Antonio and Utah State.

In the 19-year history of the NCAA Championship nine schools have been crowed champion, eight of who are in this year's bracket, including defending champion Penn State.

Additional past winners making the field are Stanford (1992, 94, 96, 97), Hawai'i (1982, 83, 87), Long Beach State (1989, 1993, 1998), UCLA (1984, 90, 91), Pacific (1985, 86), Nebraska (1995) and USC (1981).

First and second round matches will be played at 16 campus sites. USC will host South Florida, Cal Poly SLO and Georgia State in the first two rounds. The matches will be played on Friday, Dec. 1, and Saturday, Dec. 2, at the Lyon Center.

Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play Dec. 7-10 at four campus locations yet to be determined. The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and finals hosted by Virginia Commonwealth in Richmond, Va., on Dec. 14 and 16.

Pacific Region

First Round at the USC Lyon Center, Los Angeles
Cal Poly SLO (16-11) vs. South Florida (28-5) - 5 p.m.
USC (25-2) vs. Georgia State (28-9) - 7 p.m.

Second Round
Cal Poly SLO/South Florida vs. USC/Georgia State - 6 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder