Andre Carter, Nick Harris Named 1st Team All-Pac-10

Nov. 27, 2000

Berkeley, CA - Cal defensive end Andre Carter and punter Nick Harris were named first team All-Pacific-10 on Monday (November 27) by the conference office. It was the second consecutive season that each earned first team all-conference honors.

Carter was edged out in a close vote for the conference Defensive Player of the Year as Arizona State linebacker Adam Archeleta earned five votes for the honor compared to four votes for Carter. Stanford linebacker Riall Johnson picked up the lone other vote.

Carter enjoyed a brilliant senior season with a school record 13.5 sacks and 19.5 tackles behind the line of scrimmage. He has earned several post-season honors including being named one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Award, given to the nation's top defensive player. He has also earned first team All-America honors as named by the Football Writer's Association, Football News, the Football Coaches Association and the Walter Camp Foundation.

Harris earned first team All-America honors as named by the Walter Camp Foundation the Football Coaches Association.

Three other Cal players earned second team honors as junior offensive guard Brandon Ludwig, senior defensive tackle Jacob Waasdorp and sophomore return specialist Jemeel Powell were voted onto the Pac-10 second team.

Seven Cal players earned honorable mention Pac-10 accolades. They were senior offensive lineman Reed Diehl, sophomore tailback Joe Igber, sophomore Jemeel Powell - this time as a cornerback, senior cornerback Chidi Iwuoma, junior linebacker Scott Fujita, sophomore linebacker Matt Nixon and redshirt-freshman offensive tackle Mark Wilson.


First Team Offense Second Team OffenseQB Marques Tuiasosopo, Sr., Washington QB Joey Harrington, Jr., OregonRB Ken Simonton, Jr., Oregon State RB Maurice Morris, Jr., OregonRB DeShaun Foster, Jr., UCLA RB Sultan McCullough, So., USCWR DeRonnie Pitts, Sr., Stanford WR Milton Wynn, Jr., Washington StateWR Freddie Mitchell, Jr., UCLA WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh, Sr., Oregon StateTE Todd Heap, Jr., Arizona State TE Jerramy Stevens, So., WashingtonOL Chris Gibson, Jr., Oregon State OL Lee Gundy, Sr., OregonOL Victor Leyva, Sr., Arizona State OL Eric Heitmann, Jr., StanfordOL Scott Peters, Jr., Arizona State OL Mitch White, Sr., Oregon StateOL Elliot Silvers, Sr., Washington OL Marques McFadden, Sr., ArizonaOL Chad Ward, Sr., Washington OL Levi Jones, Jr., Arizona Statex OL Brandon Ludwig, So., California

First Team Defense Second Team DefenseDE Andre Carter, Sr., California DE Saul Patu, Sr., OregonDT Willie Howard, Sr., Stanford DT Jacob Waasdorp, Sr., CaliforniaDT Larry Tripplett, Jr., Washington DT Ennis Davis, Sr., USCDE DeLawrence Grant, Sr., Oregon State DE Joe Tafoya, Sr., ArizonaLB Adam Archuleta, Sr., Arizona State LB Zeke Moreno, Sr., USCLB Lance Briggs, So., Arizona LB Darnell Robinson, Sr., Oregon StateLB Riall Johnson, Sr., Stanford LB Robert Thomas, Sr., UCLADB Dennis Weathersby, So., Oregon State DB Curtis Williams, So., WashingtonDB Rashad Bauman, Jr., Oregon DB Tank Williams, Jr., StanfordDB Ricky Manning, So., UCLA DB Michael Jolivette, Fr., ArizonaDB Hakim Akbar, Jr., Washington DB Terrance Carroll, Sr., Oregon StateD DB Billy Newman, Jr., Washington State

First Team Specialists Second Team SpecialistsPK Ryan Cesca, So., Oregon State PK Chris Griffith, So., UCLAP Nick Harris, Sr., California P Nate Fikse, So., UCLARS Bobby Wade, So., Arizona RS Jemeel Powell, So., CaliforniaST Jermaine Hanspard, Sr., Oregon ST Peter Hansen, Jr., ArizonaRS=return specialistST=special teams player (non-kicker or return man)

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder