Bauman, Hanspard Earn All-Conference Honors

Nov. 27, 2000

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Junior cornerback Rashad Bauman and senior Jermaine Hanspard were Oregon's representatives named to the Pacific-10 Conference's first-team all-league team as announced by the Pac-10 office Monday.

For Bauman it represents the culmination of the comeback cycle which began with him missing all of last year because of a knee injury after earning honorable mention all-conference honors in 1998. The 5-foot-8 Phoenix, Ariz., native was previously named a third-team All-American by Football News.

Hanspard earned a spot on the all-conference first team as a special teams standout.

Added to the second team were Ducks' senior offensive lineman Lee Gundy and defensive end Saul Patu, as well as junior quarterback Joey Harrington and tailback Maurice Morris.

Receiving honorable mention all-conference acclaim were seniors Jed Boice (defensive tackle), Kurtis Doerr (punter), Jason Nikolao (defensive line), Garrett Sabol (outside linebacker), Matt Smith (middle linebacker) and Marshaun Tucker (wide receiver), juniors Jim Adams (offensive line), Justin Peelle (tight end) and Steve Smith (cornerback), and sophomore wide receiver Keenan Howry.

Although the Ducks were afforded only two honorees among the first-team contingent, their 16 overall all-league nominations were more than any other team in the Pac-10.

Bauman gained a share of Oregon's team lead in interceptions for his second year in a row with four, including his third return for a touchdown (42 yards at Washington State) of his collegiate career. He also recorded 26 tackles and broke up 20 pass attempts.

He becomes the program's first underclassman named to the first team since kicker Nathan Villegas in 1998, and the school's first position player since cornerback Kenny Wheaton earned first-team all-conference applause four years ago.

Hanspard, a Long Beach, Calif., cornerback, recorded 13 of his 14 tackles as part of the squad's kickoff and punt coverage units. In addition, he returned eight kickoffs for a 19.1-yard average.

It marked the third straight year that Patu received all-conference accolades from the league's coaches as he received honorable mention plaudits as a sophomore and junior, while Smith duplicated his honorable mention kudos from a year ago.

Oregon State's Dennis Erickson was voted the league's coach of the year, Washington quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo offensive player of the year and Arizona State linebacker Adam Archuleta the Pac-10's defensive player of the year.

The Pac-10's complete first-team all-conference units are as follows:

QB Marques Tuiasosopo, Sr., Washington
RB Ken Simonton, Jr., Oregon State
RB DeShaun Foster, Jr., UCLA
WR DeRonnie Pitts, Sr., Stanford
WR Freddie Mitchell, Jr., UCLA
TE Todd Heap, Jr., Arizona State
OL Chris Gibson, Jr., Oregon State
OL Victor Leyva, Jr., Arizona State
OL Scott Peters, Jr., Arizona State
OL Elliot Silvers, Sr., Washington
OL Chad Ward, Sr., Washington

DE Andre Carter, Sr., California
DT Willie Howard, Sr., Stanford
DT Larry Tripplett, Jr., Washington
DE DeLawrence Grant, Sr., Oregon State
LB Adam Archuleta, Sr., Arizona State
LB Lance Briggs, So., Arizona
LB Riall Johnson, Sr., Stanford
DB Dennis Weathersby, So., Oregon State
DB Rashad Bauman, Jr., Oregon
DB Ricky Manning, So., UCLA
DB Hakim Akbar, Jr., Washington

Special Teams
PK Ryan Cesca, So., Oregon State
P Nick Harris, Sr., California
RS Bobby Wade, So., Arizona
ST Jermaine Hanspard, Oregon

(RS-return specialist, ST-special teams player (non-kicker or return specialist)

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder