Pitts, Howard, Johnson Named All-Pac-10

Nov. 27, 2000

Stanford, Calif. - Senior wide receiver DeRonnie Pitts, senior defensive tackle Willie Howard and senior outside linebacker Riall Johnson today were named First-Team All-Pacific-10 Conference. Offensive guard Eric Heitmann and free safety Tank Williams were named to the Second-Team. The All-Pac-10 teams were selected by the league's head coaches.

Honorable mention recogntion went to inside linebacker Coy Wire and special teams specialist Emory Brock.

Also, fullback Casey Moore and offensive tackle Greg Schindler were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic Team. Honorable mention Academic All-Pac-10 recognition went to tight end Russell Stewart, quarterback Randy Fasani, receiver Jamien McCullum and inside linebacker Matt Friedrichs.

Pitts, who finished his career number two in Pac-10 history with 228 receptions and number five all-time with 2,981 yards, led the league this season in receptions per game (7.0) and was third in receiving yards per game (80.2). He recorded 77 receptions for 882 yards and eight touchdowns.

Johnson became the first player in Pac-10 history to lead the league in quarterback sacks in consecutive seasons. This season, he led the league in both sacks with 15 and tackles for loss with 20.

Howard earned First-Team All-Pac-10 honors for the second straight season. He had 52 tackles, nine tackles for loss and five sacks in 2000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder