Sun Devil Football Players Earn Top Honors From Pac-10

Nov. 27, 2000

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Senior outside linebacker Adam Archuleta was named the Pacific-10 Conference Defensive Player of the Year Monday, Nov. 27, while freshman defensive end Terrell Suggs was named the Freshman of the Year.

Archuleta, who also earned first-team Pac-10 defensive honors, finished the regular season as the conference leader in tackles with 119, a whopping 86 of which were solo efforts. He also had 14 tackles for loss, and is a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, which goes to the top linebacker in the nation.

Suggs, who was the first true freshman at ASU to make a start in the team's season debut since 1974, was among the Pac-10 leaders in quarterback sacks (third, 10 for minus-60 yards) and tackles for loss (7th, 16 for minus-72 yards). In addition, Suggs forced four fumbles and managed one touchdown on a fumble recovery and another on a 48-yard interception return.

Archuleta and Suggs were not the only Sun Devils honored by the Pac-10 Monday. Junior tight end Todd Heap and senior offensive linemen Victor Leyva and Scott Peters received first-team offensive honors, while junior lineman Levi Jones was named to the second-team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder