UW's Tuiasosopo Named Pac-10 Offensive MVP;

Nov. 27, 2000

Walnut Creek, CA - University of Washington senior quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Offensive Player of the Year, Pac-10 commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. Tuiasosopo was also one of five Huskies named to the All-Pac-10 first team.

Tuiasosopo was joined on the first team by offensive guard Chad Ward, offensive tackle Elliot Silvers, defensive tackle Larry Tripplett and safety Hakim Akbar. Tight end Jerramy Stevens and safety Curtis Williams both made the second team while linebackers Derrell Daniels and Jeremiah Pharms earned honorable mention.

Arizona State picked up two big honors as linebacker Adam Archuleta was named Defensive Player of the Year and defensive end Terrell Suggs picked up the Freshman of the Year award. Oregon State head coach Dennis Erickson, who led the Beavers to a 10-1 record and a share of the Pac-10 title, was named the Coach of the Year. OSU and UW each had five players on the All-Pac-10 first team, most in the league.

Tuiasosopo, the Huskies' all-time leader in total offense and only the second UW quarterback to throw for 2,000 yards in consecutive seasons, led Washington to a 10-1 overall record, a 7-1 league mark and a No. 4 ranking in the most recent polls. He is the first Husky to take home the Pac-10's offensive MVP award since tailback Napoleon Kaufman in 1994. Other Huskies to earn Offensive Player of the Year since the award was created in 1975 were Warren Moon (1977), Steve Pelluer (1983), Greg Lewis (1990), Mario Bailey (1991) and Kaufman (1994).

Tuiasosopo, Ward, Silvers, Tripplett and Akbar are all first-time selections to the All-Pac-10 first team. Ward, Tripplett and Akbar each made second-team last year. Ward (Finley, Wash.) and Silvers (Agoura, Calif.), both seniors, are largely to thank for helping the Huskies to lead the Pac-10 in rushing with 211.7 yards per game, the Dawgs' highest average since 1996.

Tripplett, a junior from Los Angeles, led the Huskies with 11 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks. He also blocked four kicks during the course of the season and was named the national defensive player of the week following the Huskies' win over Colorado. Akbar, a junior from Riverside, Calif., became only the second Husky defensive back since 1972 to lead the Huskies in tackles, tying Daniels for the team lead with 97, fourth-most in the conference.

Stevens, a sophomore from Olympia, Wash., had the most prolific season ever by a Washington tight end, catching 43 passes for 600 yards. He also set a UW tight ends record with eight catches vs. Arizona. Williams, a senior from Fresno, Calif., finished the year third on the team with 55 tackles despite missing the final three games of the year after suffering a spinal cord injury against Stanford on Oct. 28.

Daniels, a senior from San Fernando, Calif., shared the team lead in tackles with Akbar, compiling 97 stops on the season. Pharms, a senior from Sacramento, Calif., finished fifth on the team with 46 tackles and was second to Tripplett with 10 tackles for loss.

The entire 2000 All-Pac-10 football first and second team follows:

2000 All-Pacific-10 Conference Football Team

First Team Offense

QB Marques Tuiasosopo, Sr., Washington
RB Ken Simonton, Jr., Oregon State
RB DeShaun Foster, Jr., UCLA
WR DeRonnie Pitts, Sr., Stanford
WR Freddie Mitchell, Jr., UCLA
TE Todd Heap, Jr., Arizona State
OL Chris Gibson, Jr., Oregon State
OL Victor Leyva, Sr., Arizona State
OL Scott Peters, Jr., Arizona State
OL Elliot Silvers, Sr., Washington
OL Chad Ward, Sr., Washington

First Team Defense

DE Andre Carter, Sr., California
DT Willie Howard, Sr., Stanford
DT Larry Tripplett, Jr., Washington
DE DeLawrence Grant, Sr., Oregon State
LB Adam Archuleta, Sr., Arizona State
LB Lance Briggs, So., Arizona
LB Riall Johnson, Sr., Stanford
DB Dennis Weathersby, So., Oregon State
DB Rashad Bauman, Jr., Oregon
DB Ricky Manning, So., UCLA
DB Hakim Akbar, Jr., Washington

First Team Specialists

PK Ryan Cesca, So., Oregon State
P Nick Harris, Sr., California
RS Bobby Wade, So., Arizona
ST Jermaine Hanspard, Sr., Oregon

Second Team Offense

QB Joey Harrington, Jr., Oregon
RB Maurice Morris, Jr., Oregon
RB Sultan McCullough, So., USC
WR Milton Wynn, Jr., Washington State
WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh, Sr., Oregon State
TE Jerramy Stevens, So., Washington
OL Lee Gundy, Sr., Oregon
OL Eric Heitmann, Jr., Stanford
OL Mitch White, Sr., Oregon State
OL Marques McFadden, Sr., Arizona
OL Levi Jones, Jr., Arizona State
OL Brandon Ludwig, So., California

Second Team Defense

DE Saul Patu, Sr., Oregon
DT Jacob Waasdorp, Sr., California
DT Ennis Davis, Sr., USC
DE Joe Tafoya, Sr., Arizona
LB Zeke Moreno, Sr., USC
LB Darnell Robinson, Sr., Oregon State
LB Robert Thomas, Sr., UCLA
DB Curtis Williams, So., Washington
DB Tank Williams, Jr., Stanford
DB Michael Jolivette, Fr., Arizona
DB Terrance Carroll, Sr., Oregon State
DB Billy Newman, Jr., Washington State

Second Team Specialists

PK Chris Griffith, So., UCLA
P Nate Fikse, So., UCLA
RS Jemeel Powell, So., California
ST Peter Hansen, Jr., Arizona

RS=return specialistST=special teams player (non-kicker or return man)

Offensive Player of the Year: Marques Tuiasosopo, QB, Sr., Washington
Defensive Player of the Year: Adam Archuleta, OLB, Sr., Arizona State
Freshman of the Year: Terrell Suggs, DE, Arizona State
Coach of the Year: Dennis Erickson, Oregon State

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder