Soccer Players Earn All-Academic Honors

Nov. 28, 2000

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Thirteen men and ten women soccer players were named to the Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic Teams, as announced today by Commissioner Tom Hansen. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

The Cardinal men placed eight players on the First Team and five on the Second Team while the women had one Second Team selection and nine Honorable Mention members.

Junior defender Amy Sauer led the women with her Second Team selection. Seniors Celina DeLeon, Shauna Itri and Christy LaPierre earned Honorable Mention honors while junior Erin Maurer was also a selection. Sophomores Kelsey Carlson, Katherine Harrington, Becky Myers, Callie Withers and Marcia Wallis made the Honorable Mention squad as well.

On the men's side, the Cardinal led the conference with eight First Team selections. Four seniors, Ryan Nelsen, Luke Rust, Corey Woolfolk and Adam Zapala, were honored while juniors Taylor Graham and Matt Moses and sophomores Todd Dunivant and Mike Murphy were selected to the First Team. The Cardinal placed seniors Chris Gores and Scott Leber on the Second Team as well as junior Derek Shanahan and sophomores Roger Levesque and Johanes Maliza.

The Cardinal women finished their season at 14-6-1while the men are still alive in the quarterfinals of the College Cup. They bring an 18-2-1 record into Saturday night's match against SMU. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m. on Saturday at New Maloney Field.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder