Freddie Mitchell And Robert Thomas Named UCLA Football MVPs

Nov. 30, 2000

Junior wide receiver Freddie Mitchell and junior linebacker Robert Thomas were selected winners of UCLA's Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player Thursday night at the 82nd Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet, held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Mitchell is one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award, presented to the nation's top wide receiver. He has been named first-team All-America by the Walter Camp Football Foundation and ranks second nationally in receiving yards per game (119.5). He has already set a UCLA season record with 1,314 yards on his 68 receptions.

Thomas was one of 11 semifinalists for the Butkus Award, presented to the nation's top linebacker. On the year, he led the team with 80 tackles, ranked third on the squad with eight tackles for loss and led the Bruins and the Pac-10 with six fumbles forced. His average of 7.3 tackles per game ranked 11th in the Pac-10 this season.

The complete list of winners:Charles Pike Memorial Award for Outstanding Scout Team Player: Offense: wide receiver Craig Bragg, Defense: defensive back Nick Carey
Jack R. Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship of a Senior Player: Wide receiver Ryan Wilkins
N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership: Offense: guard Oscar Cabrera, Defense: linebacker Tony White
Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player: Offense: quarterback Cory Paus, Defense: safety Jason Zdenek
John Boncheff, Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year: Defensive tackle Rodney Leisle
Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player: Punter Nate Fikse
Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior: offensive guard Brian Polak
George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player against USC: Wide receiver Freddie Mitchell
Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player against USC: Tackle Ken Kocher
Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence: Wide receiver Drew Bennett
Jerry Long 'Heart' Award: Tailback DeShaun Foster
1999 Team Captain Award: Offensive guard Oscar Cabrera, tailback DeShaun Foster, wide receiver Freddie Mitchell, linebacker Tony White
Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player: Offense: wide receiver Freddie Mitchell, Defense: linebacker Robert Thomas

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network