Dick Gould, Frank Brennan Earn Wilson/ITA National Coach Of The Decade Honors For The 1990s

Dec. 5, 2000

PRINCETON, New Jersey - Stanford men's tennis coach Dick Gould and long-time women's tennis coach Frank Brennan were named Wilson/ITA National Coaches of the Decade by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

Gould and Brennan were also honored as Division I Coaches of the Decade for the 1980s. This is the first time Wilson and the ITA are honoring coaches in all of its divisions.

Gould, who is entering his 35th season on The Farm, led the Cardinal to six NCAA Division I men's titles in `90, `92, and `95-`98. The Cardinal went 240-28 (.895) during the `90s and also captured five USTA/ITA National Team Indoor titles. His `98 unbeaten squad is considered one of the best of all time and yielded only four points in 28 dual matches that season. Gould is second among all NCAA Division I coaches with 17 career national titles (all since 1973).

'I'm fortunate to work at a great place where the university has given me the resources,' said Gould. 'I'm very honored, but I also realize I'm at a great university which helps make this possible.'

Fifteen different Stanford players have reached at least the finals of the NCAA singles tournament while playing for Gould. Forty-six of his players have earned All-America honors. He has been named the Pac-10 Conference Coach of the Year for the on eight occasions and was inducted into the Stanford Athletic Hall of Fame in 1994. He has also coached nine NCAA singles champions, including John McEnroe (1978), Tim Mayotte (1981), Jared Palmer (1991) and Alex O'Brien (1992).

At the end of the 2000 rankings, Gould and the Cardinal produced three of the top-eight ranked singles players in the country as well as the top-ranked doubles team. As a team, Stanford has won five of the last six national titles and nine of the last 13.

Brennan, who retired from coaching this past June, led the Stanford women to NCAA titles in `90-91, `97 and `99 (and three runner-up showings). The Cardinal women also won three USTA/ITANational Team Indoor titles and Brennan finished the decade with a 259-20 (.928) mark. In his 21 seasons on The Farm, Brennan won 10 NCAA Championships and 13 consecutive Pac-10 Championships. He guided four Cardinal squads to perfect seasons with the 1998-90 teams recording 76 consecutive victories.

He coached 41 All-Americans, nine NCAA singles national champions and three NCAA doubles champions. Among those that enjoyed success under Brennan were four-time All-American Teri Whitlinger, three-time All-American and NCAA singles champion Debbie Graham and four-time All-American and two-time NCAA singles champion Sandra Birch. Most recently, Brennan coached Lilia Osterloh (1997) and Laura Granville (2000) to NCAA singles titles.

'The ITA is proud to honor these outstanding coaches and the amazing success they have had over the last decade,' ITA Executive Director David Benjamin said. 'There are a number of outstanding coaches in collegiate tennis but to excel in such a way over the course of a decade is quite an accomplishment.'

Other winners for achievements for the past 10 years (excluding this past spring) are: Joe Cabri, Lander (NCAA Division II men), Bob Hansen, UC Santa Cruz (NCAA Division III men), Ann Lebedeff, Cal Poly-Pomona (NCAA Division II women), Mike Perez, Lynn (NAIA women), John Peterson, Tyler Junior College (JC men and women), Colin Robertson, Oklahoma City (NAIA men), and Paul Wardlaw, Kenyon (NCAA Division III women).

These nine coaches, who will be recognized on Dec. 14 at the ITA Coaches Convention at Saddlebrook Resort in Wesley Chapel, Fla., combined to win 46 national titles during the nineties. Lander's Cabri, the NCAA Division II Men's Coach of the Decade, led the way with seven NCAA titles from 1993-99 (and two NAIA titles in 1991-92).

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network